A wee Scott Pilgrim fix

November 11, 2006 at 11:52 pm 10 comments

There was a one page comic for Scott Pilgrim in the free newspaper (magazine? which is it?) NOW that I missed because… I usually don’t read it.  Fortunately they put it online.

BTW, I have nothing against NOW, I just feel I’m not edgy enough to read it.  I’ll flip through it if I see it in the staff room at the bookstore though, just to check out all sorts of amazing Toronto events I’ll never go to.   Still, I like knowing that other people do.  :)

Entry filed under: comics.

New stuff, not so new stuff and uh… old stuff Crivins!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melrose plant  |  November 13, 2006 at 3:41 pm

    Have you read a book called Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder? I read it on the weekend EVEN though it is a Luna book ( fantasy/ romance ) and quite enjoyed it.

    I feel like I am branching out into the world. I just ordered some more Luna books because I figured they would be fun….and fantastical… and romantic!!

    Much love from

    A Duck.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  November 13, 2006 at 7:06 pm

    I keep seeing ads for book 2 (which give away the ending to the first one, grr) and mean to get it… but I forget or when I remember the store doesn’t have it in. You inspired me to check a different story today and I picked it up.

    I have read four Luna books and two of them sucked horribly. The two by Michelle Sagara are good (Cast in Shadow and Cast in Courtlight) but Kitty Does the Midnight Hour and Urban Shaman both sucked. I couldn’t even finish reading them. V bad examples of urban fantasy.

    I am slacking in the VMars dept and owe you a mailing, btw. I got spoiled when you actually picked up the last one yourself. You must let us know when you’re coming back again!

    Reply
  • 3. melrose plant  |  November 13, 2006 at 9:36 pm

    oh I dont know when I will make it in
    I want to show up at Christmas for a day and work for free just for fun to throw hersheys kisses at people.

    The other night I got very teary because I missed the WBB so much. It hurt ! And I dont often cry so my teddy bear was a little embarrassed.

    I ordered a couple of Luna books on amazon because I enjoyed the Snyder so much. As well as the Snyder sequel, I ordered two by Caitlin Brennan. I thought of ordering Cast in Shadow but I am now glad that I passed on it.

    Any other romantic fantasies ( no werewolves, please ) that I should read ?

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  November 13, 2006 at 10:26 pm

    No no! Cast in Shadow was one of the good ones! Cast in Courtlight was the sequel, which wasn’t quite as good, but still a pretty decent read.

    The other two I mentioned were the bad ones.

    Hmm. Romantic fantasies… How about Summers at Castle Auburn by Sharon Shin? Actually, most of Sharon Shinn (except for Jenna Starborn which is a really really bad Jane Eyre rip off/retelling) is good. The archangel books are more sci fi, though. Mystic and Rider and the Thirteenth House are her newest and are pretty good and light romancy.

    Lois McMaster Bujold! I love love the Curse of Chalion (which is kind of low-key romancy at times) and Hallowed Hunt is more or less a stand alone.

    Oh, if only you were in convenient lending distance! Why did we waste so much time with Meg Cabot books??

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  November 13, 2006 at 10:44 pm

    p.s. Have you read the new Tamora Pierce book yet?

    And how awesome is this title: The Mislaid Magician or Ten Years After: Being the Private Correspondence Between Two Prominent Families Regarding a Scandal Touching the Highest Levels of Government and the Security of the Realm

    You’ve read this series, right?

    Reply
  • 6. melrose plant  |  November 14, 2006 at 7:59 am

    I have ordered the Mislaid Magician. I loved those books.

    I am going to hunt down Sharon Shinn….but will avoid bad Jane Eyre spinoffs like the plague .

    I am still waiting for the Tamora Pierce. A friend is going to see her at Chapters in Waterloo and I have begged her to get me a signed copy.

    Good to know bout Cast in Shadow…. it has such a pretty cover ! Will read it too!

    I love how we are communicating via your blog comments. Is this illegal?

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  November 14, 2006 at 8:13 am

    No, it’s not illegal. I believe this is what they refer to as “web 2.0” which has to do with interactivity and many other things. All is well.
    Oooh, signed copy! I also have a mental note in my brain somewhere to let you know when her comic book comes out. :)

    Reply
  • 8. melrose plant  |  November 14, 2006 at 6:35 pm

    wow! That Anita Blake book sounds pretty hot !! Maybe I should read it next.

    Hey, read the inside cover of Cast in Shadow…. looks like our friend Michelle S. works at Bakka AND writes books, eh?

    Reply
  • 9. pajcat  |  November 14, 2006 at 6:39 pm

    It would be hot if the sex scenes were any good, but they’re NOT. It was pretty boring. I just kept reading to find out if they’d ever make it out of the room they were in before page 300.

    I knew that about Michelle Sagara. I’ve seen her there a few times, but I don’t get by the Bakka as much as I’d like.

    I’m reading Poison Study today. It’s pretty good!

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  November 15, 2006 at 3:21 am

    Okay, I finished Poison Study and would probably give it an 8/10 if I were into such rankings… there were flaws but I think I’m judging it as part of the “Luna” line so had slightly lower expectations. Plus, it’s the author’s first book. Good job!
    I’m annoyed that book 2 is in hardcover, though. Seriously, what? That’s so annoying! Finish the series then if the author is popular enough THEN switch to HC. The library has it, though, so I put it on hold.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

