Scary stuff

October 31, 2006 at 11:35 am 4 comments

I was thinking last night that my list of Hallowe’en manga wasn’t very scary.  Maybe a bit spooky if you consider individual chapters (like the creepy possessed doll story in Ghost Hunt) but on the whole they tend to lean towards creepy more than scary.  Part of that is that I don’t seem to get scared while reading very often.  Creeped out, a bit chilled, but not scared like I would for something I was watching.  But I came up with a little “scared me” list last night so for what it’s worth, here it is.

Scariest book:  I don’t have one, which floored me when I realized it.  Considering the amount I read and how wimpy I can be you’d think I’d have a whole list of contenders.  Maybe because I tend to stick with sci fi/fantasy rather than a lot of horror?  Still, I read Salem’s Lot when I was about 12 (I heard my oldest brother talking about it and just had to read it myself, despite still being mostly afraid of the dark) and I didn’t think it was so bad.  I liked it, but it didn’t keep me awake at night. 

Two things stand out book-wise for the scary factor.  1)  I remember once lying in bed reading a book and it had a scene involving someone peering in through a window at an unsuspecting victim.  It scared me to the point where I couldn’t have turned over to look at my own window if my life had depended on it.  I have no idea what book it was though, so the rest of it couldn’t have been that memorable.  2)  I was snooping through my parent’s closet when I was a little girl (I think I was trying on shoes or something) and my dad had Rosemary’s Baby in a box of books.  The cover of the carriage with the claw poking out gave me a recurring nightmare that lasted for years.  If the book is as lame as the movie was, I wasted a lot of time being scared when I was little.

Um, since I have a lack of scary books, my favorite ghost story is Smoke and Mirrors by Tanya Huff, which is about a tv crew that gets stuck in a haunted house overnight.  Spooky, funny and very Canadian.

Scariest movie:  The Entity.  I saw this when I was about 25 (and cured of the whole scared of the dark thing) and had to sleep with the lights on for two nights in a row.  I jump and cover my eyes during slasher flicks, but have no real fear that an undying serial killer is ever going to come after me.  I’ve heard enough friend-of-a-friend type ghost stories though, that if I’m going to get scared during a movie (or while thinking about it in bed afterwards) it’s going to be a ghost story.  This movie was one of those based on a true story deals about a woman who is repeatedly attacked (and raped) by a ghost that invades her home and apparently followed her when she eventually moved.  Gah!  They had really effective music and special effects, especially considering it’s an 80’s movie.  I thought the 80’s cheese factor would make it safer to watch.  Oops.

Honourable mention:  Jeeper’s Creepers.  Lame lame movie, and I still haven’t figured out what the gratuitous psychic was for, but the last two minutes of that movie freaked me out and I had to give away the dvd.  Didn’t even want the box in my room.  The rest of the movie was pretty funny though.

Scariest anime episode:  Perfect Blue was a fantastic, tense psychological thriller, but for sheer spookiness, I’ll have to go with episode 12 of xxxHolic.  More ghosts!  Are we getting the theme here?

Scariest tv episode:  Home, from season four of the X-Files.  The episode with the creepy inbred family.  I saw this for the first time when I was visiting a friend in Waterloo and was pathetically grateful to be watching it with company.  :)  Supernatural did a Home-lite type episode called the Benders which was amusing but not as creepifying.

Scariest real-life event:  Crazy dude broke into our house when I was like, 6 or 7.  Oddly enough, three of the five people in my family were awake at the time but the only person who could have done something about it (my mom) didn’t know he was in the house.  He didn’t hurt anyone (other than kicking our dog for barking at him) but he did wander into my room at one point.  I remember him tugging on my pyjama sleeve and playing with the hangers in my closet.  Then I fell asleep, which people think is weird, but you can only keep up the adrenaline rush so long before you crash, I guess.   I woke up with my dad’s alarm the next morning but my parents thought I had been dreaming until my brother casually announced over breakfast hours later that “there was some guy in the house last night.”  arg!  I heard years later that he was related to the former owners of the house and used to do the nocturnal visit thing with them as well.

Entry filed under: Random Stuff.

Happy Hallowe’en! New stuff, not so new stuff and uh… old stuff

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  November 5, 2006 at 12:44 pm

    Perfect Blue scared me, but it was a fantastic piece.

    Reply
  • 2. melrose plant  |  November 5, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    off topic:

    whenever I am feeling blue and missing the bookstore so much I get a little pang, I remember the night I accidentally wore your coat home and sets me in fits of giggledom!

    Reply
  • 3. cathy  |  November 5, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    Coat stealer!!!

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  November 7, 2006 at 8:00 am

    I was surprised by how dark and suspenseful Perfect Blue was. I think it was the first movie I watched that seemed like a “real” one – aka live action suspense.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

