Money is an important part of the manga buying process

October 25, 2006 at 11:47 am 16 comments

Who knew?

Yes, I ran to the comic store today to pick up my manga, only to get really really embarrassed when I realized I forgot my wallet in my desk.  Oops!  I had to dash back to the hospital and then to the comic store again and still find ten minutes to grab something to eat.  No, I couldn’t go back after work – some friends and I went to see Wicked tonight and I had to go meet them for dinner.  My fourth dinner this week, and one more to go on Friday.  And then another one on Monday, damnit!  Yes, my birthday is this week plus my mom is visiting.  Food seems to be playing an important role.

Wicked was amazing, by the way.  It took me about fifteen minutes or so to get into it, but once I started being able to make out the words in the songs I had a blast.  I was worried for a bit there.  Sets were wonderful, costumes were fantastic (and glittery!) and the music was pretty darn good.  So so glad I went to see it.  I think it also made a difference that I hadn’t read the book and had no idea where the story was going.  I got to have some nice surprises along the way.  Glinda was my favorite character and during the intermission all you could see in the women’s bathroom lines were people doing her hair “toss toss!” thing.   heh.

Sooo, the new manga.  It was a DMP/yaoi kind of week.  I picked up:

 Only the Ring Finger Knows: the Ring Finger Falls Silent – the third and last book, I believe
Jazz 3 – will the emotional torture continue in this volume?  Probably.
The Man Who Doesn’t Take Off His Clothes 1 – I was undecided on this novel since it’s by the same people who did Don’t Worry Mama.  I spent much of that book mentally telling the arrogant domineering lead to shut up, so I didn’t know if I’d end up getting this one.  I was swayed by the guys at the comic store making fun of the title.  I don’t know why that persuaded me to get it, and I know that it doesn’t make sense.  Welcome to my buying process.
Aishiteruze Baby 4 – sadly left behind a couple of weeks back
Rin! 1 – Finally!  I’ve been looking forward to this one.  I wrote a little about it when I first heard it was licensed and have been waiting eagerly ever since.  It has a lot of the same elements of other yaoi books I’ve read – innocent younger guy with a protective older brother who’s best friend falls in love with him (usually on the rebound after giving up on the older brother, tho that’s not the case here).  Throw in an amorous friend and the naive youngster saying “he only kissed me as a joke!  what do you mean he likes me?” and you have a lot the first volume of Rin.   I think what makes it different for me is the archery.  The author uses it as a focus for the guys’ emotional states and having Katsura struggle through his anxiety problems and reliance on Sou while trying to improve his archery through his own efforts adds a needed touch of originality.  Blah.  Yes, I was gushy about this series when I first read the scanlation (two days before it was licensed!  excellent timing there) and am looking forward to lending it to friends.

Entry filed under: manga, Random Stuff.

Definition of frustrating The Prints of Kenneth

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melrose plant  |  October 26, 2006 at 5:10 pm

    Glinda is my favourite too… although I do like Fiyero….

    When are you going to post about the Obsidian dagger?

    :)

    Reply
  • 2. XenMaster  |  October 26, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    Happy Whenever-Your-Birthday-Is!

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  October 26, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    Ha, thank you! It’s Friday. Or… in two minutes!

    Reply
  • 4. Akane  |  October 27, 2006 at 1:39 pm

    Happy Birthday!!!
    All the best on your special day!

    Let me know about the Man Who Doesn’t Take Off His Clothes novel. I just noticed that Yuki Shimizu was the illustrator for the 1st and 3rd installments and am now sort of tempted to buy on the basis of the lovely pictures…
    And I have to put Jazz v 3 and Rin v 1 on my to buy list…
    I also found some yaoi manga for sale on lj so I need to stop browsing online and getting into trouble…
    Too much yaoi, so little time.
    Have fun today!
    Cheers,
    R.

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  October 27, 2006 at 4:14 pm

    Thank you!

    I’m going to write a review for tMWDTOFC (good grief!) soon, but I wasn’t a huge fan. I will totally sell you my copy for $5 if you want it. :)

    Jazz 3 was surprisingly good.

    Reply
  • 6. Ama  |  October 27, 2006 at 8:55 pm

    Are you shitting serious?

    Happy Birthday! …Mine is Wednesday. o_o

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  October 27, 2006 at 9:39 pm

    Happy Birthday! October is a good month for birthdays. I know like, five or six other people with October b-days.

    Reply
  • 8. Ama  |  October 27, 2006 at 9:40 pm

    Thank you ^_^;
    Actually, none of my classmates had an October b-day. One had a September… but I only have 18 ^^;
    Most of them were Nov-Aug

    Reply
  • 9. pajcat  |  October 27, 2006 at 10:17 pm

    Wait… Wednesday is November 1, right? Oops! November birthdays are good too…

    I keep thinking Hallowe’en is on Wednesday. And one of my sister-in-law’s birthday is on Hallowe’en.

    Reply
  • 10. Ama  |  October 28, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    I keep thinking Hallowe’en is on Wednesday. And one of my sister-in-law’s birthday is on Hallowe’en.

    That’s pretty awesome, but no, it was last year.
    Today is my best friend’s birthday. o:

    Reply
  • 11. melrose plant  |  October 28, 2006 at 8:11 pm

    I remember last year for your birthday, you wanted your mom to get you Veronica Mars. So, you wanted to order it from amazon straight away so that it would be there super quick… but you didn’t quite trust the internet cafe or the library.

    ahhhh good times. It was around the time we saw Curse of the Were Rabbit ( cute little bunnies howling to the moon ).

    Do you have internet at home now?

    Reply
  • 12. pajcat  |  October 29, 2006 at 12:56 am

    Yes, I am all internetted up. (2 t’s there?) I spend too much time on my computer.

    I got Supernatural for my b-day this year. Ah, the Ackles… such a good show. And I didn’t realize how much I actually wanted it until I got it.

    YOU, have quite the memory, btw.

    Reply
  • 13. Akane  |  October 31, 2006 at 11:22 am

    Sold!
    I already have the manga (my favourite of the four…) and the first two novels…it pains to say I really really don’t like having incomplete series… I either complete it, trade it or sell it…
    ttyl
    Oh yeah, are you closing on saturday? If yes, I will return two or three manga volumes…
    R.

    Reply
  • 14. pajcat  |  October 31, 2006 at 11:52 pm

    Hmm, so far I’m closing that day… There was a manga? huh. Or am I totally reading your comment wrong.

    I think I would have liked it more as a manga. The characters probably would have come off a bit differently. Hard to know who to root for when everyone is a jerk!

    Reply
  • 15. Akane  |  November 1, 2006 at 12:38 pm

    I apologize for being so vague.
    I will the third OTRK novel from you – if it already hasn’t been snatched up by someone else…
    I have OTRK manga and the first two novels…and at the moment the characters are too pretty for me to contemplate selling them at the moment.
    I am a sucker for a pretty face sometimes…
    Thx again!
    (After I tackle my book club read and the latest Nora Roberts I am going to read the Meg Cabot novel I borrowed from you…)
    Roxanne

    Reply
  • 16. pajcat  |  November 1, 2006 at 1:58 pm

    Oh, that’s okay. You weren’t really vague, I just thought you were still talking about the Man Who Doesn’t Take Off His Clothes. :) I’ll bring you the third novel. I don’t lend the novels out as much as manga for some reason.

    I think the OTRK books are badly edited/written, but I love the characters so I overlook it. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

