Setback!

October 5, 2006 at 11:05 pm 1 comment

I’m currently working on the second square for my afghan and realized that I did three rows backwards tonight, darnit!  Had to rip them out and learned a valuable lesson about trying to crochet while Supernatural is on.  Granny squares are no competition for the Ackles, especially when he’s all greasy and working on cars. 

Ahem!

I did finish the first square the other day and am quite proud of my first attempt.  I suppose it’s not really done as I’m going to be putting a red border around each square, but I’m saving that until the end of the project when I have a better idea of how big I want the afghan to be and what I want the finished product to look like.  I’m kind of winging it right now.  Anyway, here’s my first square:

hpim0032.JPG

And to give you a better idea of how big it is, here is the square posing with the last volume of Land of the Blindfolded:

hpim0033.JPG

(This is completely off topic, but I’m quite sad that Land of the Blindfolded is over now.  I really liked that series and wasn’t ready for it to end yet.  One of the joys of manga is the finite storylines, but it can also be disappointing with the ones you love.)

I probably won’t be writing much more about my afghan until I’m almost finished.  I mean, just multiply the square above by six (probably) and slap a red border around it and you have a good idea of what I’m aiming for.  I think it’s going to look nice when I’m done.  I hope!  And this one’s for me.  Next one will be a gift, most likely for my mom, who has a mom’s appreciation for handmade gifts.

And since I was talking about Supernatural earlier… this episode was about a creepy clown that was getting kids to let them into their house so the clown could kill and eat (? I think?) the parents.  Arg.   I lost a bit of the episode while I was laughing over this exchange:

Sam: You’re afraid of flying!
Dean: Planes crash!
Sam: And apparently clowns kill people.

Hee!  Yes, Sam has a very rational fear of clowns.  It was quite funny.   I did the shallow thing up above about the pretty of the episode, but really, the acting in this show is amazing.  Dean’s repressed emoting usually gets to me – he’s not a gusher but he does the glimmering eyes about to shed a single tear thing really really well.  Sooo, this episode brought the emotion (the boys dealing with the trauma from the last episode), the creepy (killer clown, ’nuff said) and the funny (Dean doesn’t let Sam off the hook about the clown thing, thus proving himself to be a genuine big brother).  Sigh.  I love this show….

Entry filed under: knitting/crocheting.

Veronica Mars love One more about Wallflower and Ghost Hunt…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. melrose plant  |  October 6, 2006 at 6:36 pm

    you are an uber talented ducky ….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

