Excuses, excuses

September 25, 2006 at 11:45 pm 8 comments

I’ve been meaning to write about some of my new yaoi books for about two weeks now and haven’t gotten around to it.  One of those situations where I know writing the post is going to take forever so I keep putting it off.   Soon… I will do it soon.

So what have I been doing instead?

Tonight I watched some of the xxxHolic anime.  Episodes 22 and 23 (SPOILERS AHEAD!) were from volume 6 of the manga, which has been my favorite story so far.  It’s the chapter about the lonely woman in the park that Watanuki meets and forms a bond with… and he keeps going to see her even though he knows it’s killing him.  sniff!  Yes, I shed a single tear tonight, which surprised me because I did like the manga version better.  The anime still touched me, though.  It looks like the next episode will be a flashback to one of Watanuki’s first ghost friends, but hopefully the spider vengeance story will be coming soon.  If there’s only three episodes left, though, they don’t have much time.

Yesterday I read Skybreaker by Kenneth Oppel, which is the sequel to Airborn.   I got caught up in the adventure and romance and didn’t stop to play on the computer.  Young Matt Cruse is back with his plucky friend Kate and this time they’re off to find a “ghost” ship that disappeared 40 years ago and has been drifting through the skies ever since.  There was a lot of tension in the book – were they going to find the lost ship?  would Matt and Kate stay together despite their attractive new treasure hunting partners?  would they get caught by pirates before finding the treasure?  will Matt ever get over being a poor boy dating a rich girl?  A very fun read!  I gave Airborn to my nephew for his birthday – I think I’m going to give him the sequel for Christmas.

18 episodes of House!  Yes, I’ve been making my way through season 1.  All of my friends seem to watch it and while I liked it too, it was never enough to remember when it was on or watch instead of Supernatural.   I was home sick from work for a couple of days and thought it would be appropriate to watch a medical drama.  It’s amusing to watch.  There are very definite patterns to the treatment of patients that they rarely deviate from (they like to half kill patients with the wrong treatments before figuring out what they actually have), but I get a kick out of watching Wilson.  He’s the head of Oncology but all he ever does is hang out with House and his lackeys.  Sometimes he’ll look into a microscope and say “It’s not cancer!” but you don’t see him doing actual work very often.  I think he’s secretly jealous of House’s lackeys and the fact that Wilson’s office isn’t as big or cool looking.

Hmm, not blog-related, but I did blow off processing new dvd’s for a while at work on Saturday to work on another DMP manga list for the bookstore.  For the FIFTH time!  If my supreme overlord manager had been there I would have called it “Cathy’s last DMP list EVER” which might have helped with finally getting any of these books into the store.  Hey, it worked with the anime!  I made one massive, 5 page list of anime I wanted for my section, called it “Cathy’s final anime order list” and handed it over with the declaration that if we didn’t finally start getting some of this stuff in I was never making another one again.  We eventually got most of it, so I continue to nag when cool new stuff is coming out that I want us to get.  (The first volume of Bleach is being released at the end of November, btw!)

I keep missing the new tv shows I meant to watch but I did catch the first episode of Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip.  I liked it, but was disoriented by the fact that it’s a drama.  I thought it was going to be a comedy (like 30 Rock) but it’s a drama about making a comedy show…. slight difference.  I was also getting distracted by how many people I kept recognizing.  But they’d only rush by, or were someone’s assistant and only had a minute of airtime.  I guess as the show goes on these background people will get more attention, it was just weird how I’d only have time to think “Hey! Isn’t that….” and then they’d be gone.  :)

This week is Supernatural, which I’ve really been looking forward to.  And Entertainment Weekly had Battlestar Galactica (my other “I CAN’T WAIT” premiere) on the cover this week, which was awesome.  Not too many spoilers in the accompanying article… they were all in the pictures that went with it.  arg!  Be warned if you don’t like spoilers!

I’m off to watch another episode of House now before turning in.  I’m going to start working on my yaoi reviews tomorrow night and as soon as I see the next and last episode of Ouran (I’m assuming #26 is the final one of the season and I hope I hope it’ll be back for a second year!) I’m going to get back into writing about the anime episodes, which August-the-hell-month killed, among other things.

Entry filed under: anime, books, manga, rambling, television.

Wallflower preview Death Note teaser

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  September 27, 2006 at 5:00 pm

    …I MET KENNETH OPPEL. I went to the Red Maple awards, and he signed my copy of Skybreaker. -dies inside 24,000 times- I love Airborn&Skybreaker, I wish a movie would come out! T_T

    BTW, if you haven’t read Twilight yet, it’s supposed to be a good book.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  September 27, 2006 at 6:53 pm

    Yeah, I had a bunch of people recommend Twilight to me so I read it back in August. I liked it, and I’ll probably get around to reading the sequel sometime.

    I know people who have met Kenneth Oppel too and they were impressed with him in person.

    Reply
  • 3. Ama  |  September 28, 2006 at 5:50 pm

    Kenneth Oppel’s a pretty impressive person, but NOBODY beats Richard Scrimger. That man really rocks! He’s one of the coolest authors I’ve ever seen and he’s so wacky. I bought a book signed by him at Word On The Street and was uber happy.

    Reply
  • 4. melrose plant  |  September 29, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    I totally friggin’ love Kenneth Oppel. He was August’s author poster boy

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  September 30, 2006 at 5:54 am

    I guess we can assume that Kenneth Oppel is generally beloved, then. :) I don’t think I’ve heard of Richard Scrimger tho. He writes what?

    Reply
  • 6. melrose plant  |  September 30, 2006 at 9:51 am

    Scrimger writes YA too….its kinda dark and funny…..

    Kenneth Oppel is true love :)

    Reply
  • 7. cathy  |  September 30, 2006 at 10:12 am

    Ah. I just looked him up and no… I’ve never read any of his books.

    Reply
  • 8. Ama  |  September 30, 2006 at 2:24 pm

    Richard Scrimger’s written The Nose From Jupiter, and several other sequels, The Way to Schenectady plus a sequel to it and last but certainly not least, From Charlie’s Point of View. Which is my second favorite, my favorite will always be The Nose From Jupiter. 8D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

