One step closer to the afghan

September 19, 2006 at 11:39 pm 12 comments

Normally an evening spent playing on YouTube yields nothing more productive than getting something like this stuck in my head.  (I blame Erik, btw, even if it was only indirectly his fault.)  Sunday night’s session was slightly more productive as I got the idea to search for any crochet demos that might have been posted.  After checking some of the knitting stores in Toronto for intermediate type classes I wasn’t very satisfied with my options, so I thought I’d see what I could puzzle out on my own… or with helpful video examples.

I found a couple – instructions for making a star stitch and one for making a scrunchie.  I don’t think the scrunchie is something I’d ever wear, but by damn I could make one after watching the demo.  Both were from Learn Crochet Now, so I surfed over to see if they had any other free videos available.  Unfortunately no – they sell videos on cd or dvd with different crochet instructions and projects OR (and this is the cool part I liked) you could pay to download the video right away to keep on your computer.  I browsed around on the forums for a bit, checked out some of the samples then decided to try the one for making granny squares, which is one of the reasons I wanted to learn to crochet.  I like granny squares and wanted to make an afghan.  I figured $10 for the video was about what I’d spend on a random pattern book that I’d then look through, decide I couldn’t decipher and give up.  :)  (By the way, I have no affiliation with this site, etc etc.  I just liked the video I bought.)

I think the only negative experience I had was when I was almost finished ordering.  They say you don’t need a Paypal account to purchase anything (I used my Visa card) but toward the end of the process there’s a form with your account name and a password/confirm password.  I was unsure of whether or not I was finished (there was a small link to go back to the merchant’s website but I didn’t know if that would screw up my order or not) so I filled it out and… Congratulations, I’ve now registered for a Paypal account I didn’t really want.  The link for returning to the merchant’s site was much more obvious here.  grr.  Considering much of my work at the library consists of purchasing books online, I think I’m pretty savvy at shopping over the Internet.  I hated being caught like that.

But, like I said, that was the only downside.  I downloaded the file with no problem and it plays in my Media Player.  If anything happens to it I think I can log back in to my account – I get ten downloads of the file altogether.

Tonight I sat down with my crochet hook and one of my many balls of yarn and followed along with the video.  I now have a small, ugly granny square… sniff!  (Hey!  It’s only my first try!)  I stopped at the switch colours segment so will have a much bigger square tomorrow. 

This is definitely the process that works for me.  Breathing down the neck of the instructor (or the camera person was, anyway), rewinding bits I didn’t quite catch or wanted to see again, pausing the screen to catch up… not something you can do easily with a live person or in a group!  In the intro class I had a hard time with not being able to see what the instructor was doing (she tended to stand over you while demonstrating) or having to wait while she went through the rest of the group before getting help again.  And once SHE couldn’t see what I was doing properly so I ended up thinking a slip stitch was a single crochet… THAT made for a different little pattern on my sampler.  Ah well.  I’m glad I took the class, since I learned a lot and went to have fun with a friend, but yeah, the video thing works for me.  I liked the pace of it, too.  Patient repetition, counting off stitches at different angles so you could see exactly what she was doing, a slow steady demonstration then gradually speeding up until the next time the pattern changed… 

Even from what I have now (which was dead easy, much to my surprise) I can just keep going and making the square bigger and bigger until I have a blanket.  I don’t even have to sew a bunch of little ones together – although I could if I wanted to since the end of the video teaches two different methods for joining squares together.

So tonight I’m feeling productive and crafty and a lot more hopeful about that afghan. 

Update: My little square is NOT ugly after all… I was looking at the back.  I finally flipped it over and it’s much prettier on the other side.  :)

Entry filed under: knitting/crocheting.

Something for the upcoming new year… Wallflower preview

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bitacle.org  |  September 20, 2006 at 3:50 am

    Bitacle Blog Search Archive – One step closer to the afghan

    […] Normally an evening spent playing on YouTube yields nothing more productive than getting something like this stuck in my head. […]

    Reply
  • 2. melrose plant  |  September 20, 2006 at 6:51 am

    okay, you see, I have alway wanted to knit; a scarf that would fit a teddy bear, but I suck!!! suck suck suck!!

    paypal is stupid, I know this because my junk folder in my mail account is always littered with paypal stuff

    such as: ” You owe paypal 543.00″ Yeah right, paypal!!! Grrrr!

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  September 20, 2006 at 7:04 am

    I know you have knitting trauma, but I could totally walk you through a teddy bear scarf. Unless it’s a giant monster teddy bear, it really wouldn’t take that long… :) 

    I have not yet confirmed my paypal account. I’m hoping it goes away. Or I’ll get around to trying to delete it.

    Reply
  • 4. Laurie  |  September 20, 2006 at 9:24 am

    I had fun at the class with you too!! And am looking forward to crocheting with you on Sunday! Afghans for everyone! (Well, at least one for me!)

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  September 20, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    I know you have knitting trauma, but I could totally walk you through a teddy bear scarf.

    I’d love to be able to knit something like that >w

    Reply
  • 6. Ama  |  September 20, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    It ate my comment… D:

    I have a love for scarves and socks :D Especially scarves… All I would want is to knit a striped one~ Sigh… Stripes

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  September 20, 2006 at 6:38 pm

    I haven’t been brave enough to try to knit socks. I learned mittens last year. Scarves are very basic knitting, though, even if you want to do stripes.

    Reply
  • 8. Laurie  |  September 20, 2006 at 10:06 pm

    O.K., and now I have that Hobbit song stuck in my head!!

    Reply
  • 9. pajcat  |  September 20, 2006 at 10:34 pm

    Bwah ha ha! Did you sit through the whole thing? It gets better about half way through… It’s the cheery little tune combined with the Legolas overload.

    And I’m totally up for crochet on Sunday. My first square will be done by then, which is good since you’re faster than I am with the hook. :P

    Reply
  • 10. XenMaster  |  September 21, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    Chad Vader rocks my socks.

    Reply
  • 11. pajcat  |  September 21, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    I sent the Chad Vader thing to my brother and he retaliated with this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibEdNCLyirE

    I may die.

    But poor Chad. He got no respect, even with the evil Sith powers…

    Reply
  • 12. Dale  |  September 24, 2006 at 4:00 pm

    Hello,

    This is Dale from “Learn Crochet Now.”

    I just wanted to thank you for your comments about your experience with one of our videos. Not so much for the publicity as for the nice feedback!

    Honestly, getting people to tell us what they like or don’t like about our site is like pulling teeth! I guess people just don’t have time.

    Anyway, I honestly had no idea that PayPal was creating accounts for people after they had completed the order process.

    That’s what we love feedback — we learn from it.

    Anyway, we have recently debated adding other payment options on our site other than PayPal and thanks to your feedback, we are going to get the ball rolling on that.

    Thanks again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

