Okay, Tpop sucks a *little* less than before…

September 17, 2006 at 11:52 pm 7 comments

I saw this news item at ICv2 a few days ago but haven’t gotten around to mentioning it yet.  Tokyopop has relented a bit on the exclusives front and now Heaven, Dragon Head and King City will be available through regular channels.  Guess there was a bit of backlash on that little move of theirs, heh heh.

I’m still not going to buy Heaven right away, though.  They’re not earning my trust back by changing their minds on a few titles.  And I wasn’t just irked at Tokyopop over the exclusives thing – I think it was made worse by other petty annoyances I have with them.  The main one being their continued lack of translated sound effects (I don’t count a list of sound effects by page in the back of random books as being useful.  Like I want to be flipping to the back to look things up every few panels!) and in a lesser way by my not liking as many of their newer titles. 

To be fair, though, I was reading the second volume of Monster the other day and was cursing Tokyopop in my head for being lazy about the sound effects, then thought, “wait – this is a Viz book!”  I think because they redo the effects in their Shonen Jump and Shojo Beat books I automatically thought they’d do all of them.  Boo to Viz on that one!

Entry filed under: manga.

Ghost Hunt anime site Something for the upcoming new year…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristine  |  September 19, 2006 at 1:33 pm

    Hello! I’ve tracked you down from this post and was wondering if you’d be interested in joining the (currently empty) Buffy WordPress community over at btvs.wordpress.com. To add you as an author I’ll need your e-mail address, which you can send to btvs@goowy.com. If you’re not interested, then sorry for bugging you!

    Reply
  • 2. Ama  |  September 19, 2006 at 5:29 pm

    All manga companies suck. ADV has typos, Viz and Tokyopop are too slow, too expensive, or just plain over the top because of all their ‘success’. Anyways. You didn’t really reply to my last batch of comments, likely due to the fact that they were all on not very recent entries~ Don’t mind though. :D I’d still like to know what messenger you use, if it’s ok to contact you to chat sometime, anddddd I can’t wait for Wallflower anime. XD

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  September 19, 2006 at 5:41 pm

    Ah, I didn’t respond because I haven’t been around much. Sorry about that. I MEANT to! Um, I use MSN, I guess, but I’m not logged in to it very often either… I’m a bad chat person. I mostly just use it as a substitute for phoning my nephew… still, I guess it’s just my email address (which is to the side.) If you ever see me online, feel free to say hi. :)

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  September 19, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    And for your first part of your comment… you sound more bitter than I am! :)

    I have to admit, I’m pretty happy with the way manga prices are dropping and I’m giving Tokyopop credit for that. When I first started collecting manga (back when I was 18) you could only get a few comics and the graphic novels were uber expensive(I started with Ranma and Oh My Goddess and eventually moved on to Video Girl Ai, Maison Ikkoku and Fushigi Yugi). The earliest parts of my collection were all over $25 to buy, almost $30 in some cases. I was a lot more selective back then!

    I agree about the typos though… it seems kind of unprofessional. Their copy editors need to be more careful. I tend to notice it more in my DMP books for some reason, though.

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  September 20, 2006 at 4:22 pm

    I’m guessing your email is pajcat@hotmail.com? If not, you can e-mail me and let me know (if you don’t feel like posting in the comments…) at inukaiba@hotmail.com. I don’t actually mind that you didn’t reply, I just figured you didn’t get the responses. As for ADV? Their typos were in THE ANIME SUBTITLES FOR THE SONGS. T_T! I was watching Chance Pop Session and it just pissed me right off! Even if it’s a lesser known title, you should put MORE effort into it, especially so you can sell more copies. And as for expense, every book is too expensive these days and I’m very bitter and worried books will cost at least $100 someday. :'(

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  September 20, 2006 at 6:41 pm

    No, it’s p-cat (at) hotmail etc etc. (That’s my way to try to avoid spammers, btw)

    There’s no excuse for misspellings in anime. Hire proofreaders! I’ve never seen Chance Pop Session, though I notice it’s at the library. I think the covers never appealed to me.

    Reply
  • 7. Ama  |  September 21, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    I really enjoyed it. It’s a bit cheesy and semi-predictable. But a pretty good anime. Watch it sometime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

