Pink and purple manga

September 12, 2006 at 11:17 pm 5 comments

Ha, I’ve been slacking off again.  I was going to write about some bookstore stuff on Saturday after work, but came home to a sad little “please chat online with me” message from my nephew.  How could I resist?  And yesterday I had to finish reading Will of the Empress so I could bring it back to the library… such a hard life.  Actually, I was pleasantly surprised when I picked it up in the morning and (finally!) read the cover blurb.  I had thought it was another Trickster’s Choice book but it’s part of the Winding Circle series, which are some of my favorite Tamora Pierce books.    (BTW, Tamora Pierce has a new series starting next month.  The first book is called Terrier.  It sounds interesting.)

One of the fiction people told me on Saturday that she had a customer in who was asking about the Harlequin manga, which I had seen before and almost bought because I liked the concept and the crazy pink and purple paper.  I was very happy to hear that someone had heard of them!  Romance readers, now wanting manga?  There truly is something for everyone…. I popped over to the Dark Horse site to look up titles and ISBNs for her so she could try to get them into the store.  (If you follow the link, ignore Harlequin Valentine.  It’s not part of the manga series.  :)  Click on the covers and it will bring you to a page where you can check out four page previews.)  The colour coding is important, btw – the purple books are the “sensual” ones, pink are more innocent. 

Today I decided to go to my comic store to pick up my comics before the new ones hit the shelves tomorrow.  I wanted to get 52 off of my pull list (I’m still not caring about any of the characters or the plot, so I’m giving up on it) and I keep forgetting to mention it when I go.  I figured I’d remember if the store wasn’t so busy when I went in.  When I started talking to the comic store woman, I found out that she was the one who had been asking for the Harlequin manga.  Aww!  I wanted it to be a “regular” person!  Still, I found out that what she was looking for was a newer set, which I hadn’t found at Dark Horse.  There are four more coming out this month that you can see at the Harlequin web site.  (Click on the cover and then scroll down to “more about this book” for a preview.)  These ones are all pink.  I printed out the list for my fiction buddy so she can add them to what she already has.  I think the theory will be to put a couple in the manga section and some in the romance section.  I hope the manga love spreads after all!

And, uh… I forgot to get 52 taken off of my pull list again.  Sadly, it’s that easy to distract me.

Entry filed under: books, manga.

Avalon High as OEL manga Things to look forward to

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melrose plant  |  September 13, 2006 at 7:09 am

    new Tamora Pierce….?!?!?! Splendid!~! Just finished Circle of Magic quartet…. so now I have read all of the Tortall books.

    ( my favs are Trickster and Protector of the Small )

    this is fun!

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  September 14, 2006 at 12:19 am

    I liked the first Protector of the Small book more than the others. Just like I liked the first Alanna book more… I think that’s why the Circle of Magic/Winding Circle books are my favorite. I like more of them as a series. October is going to be a Diana Wynne Jones month, which Rocks!

    Reply
  • 3. melrose plant  |  September 14, 2006 at 6:51 am

    Diana Wynne Jones is awesome.

    Reply
  • 4. amapyjama  |  September 14, 2006 at 7:01 pm

    I’m interested in Harlequin manga. Now I want to try one. :D

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  September 19, 2006 at 6:05 pm

    If you do, let me know if it’s any good. I’ve still managed to resist the lure. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

