Avalon High as OEL manga

September 7, 2006 at 11:54 am 10 comments

I was just browsing over at Meg Cabot’s Diary and saw that Tokyopop is putting out a sequel to her Avalon High book as an OEL manga.  There are some character designs and cover art here.  Avalon High was… not my favorite Meg Cabot book ever (her teen books have been feeling rushed and vaguely incomplete lately – like everything is constantly being set up for a sequel), but I also admit to some Arthurian legend bias.  I’ve never really liked the story of King Arthur, which tends to spill over onto works based on it.  (Before you ask, no I haven’t read Mists of Avalon.  I’ve tried.  Three times.  Still haven’t made it all the way through….)

So, uh…. way to go Tokyopop.  Try to get these ones into the stores, huh?  :P

Entry filed under: books, manga.

New anime and my new manga Pink and purple manga

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amapyjama  |  September 9, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    Brightside would be she publishes books quite frequently.

    Downside would be I don’t want every single book by her to have a sequel. Nuh-uh. No. Stop with the frikkin dingaloo sequels and CONCENTRATE on The Princess Diaries and your plot bunnies. And enough with the hype over it. The movies are done. OVER. Just publish the paper backs. Don’t make half books. DON’T WASTE MY TIME AND MONEY.

    Argh.. Sorry… It makes me mad with all the crap she publishes just because she can.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  September 9, 2006 at 5:50 pm

    That’s sort of what it feels like – she’s publishing little half books instead of writing just one story. And the sequels are never as good as the first one. :( I think my favorite Meg Cabot book is the Boy Next Door. The next one wasn’t bad, but I didn’t like the third as much… And yes, I’m feeling too lazy to look up the titles…

    Reply
  • 3. melrose plant  |  September 12, 2006 at 6:40 am

    poor Meg Cabot.

    she lost me long ago.

    Now, I will admit that “Size 12 is not fat” has a lot of potential.

    how did you like Privilege of the Sword?

    I thought it was quite the treat!!

    love from,

    a duck

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  September 12, 2006 at 10:27 pm

    I am *quite* happy to report that I liked Privilege of the Sword. A lot. I absolutely loved Swordspoint but was disappointed in the sequel. I wanted it to be another Swordspoint and it wasn’t so I didn’t finish in a fit of pique. I’m thinking now I should give it another chance. :) Privilege of the Sword felt more like the first book – I think that’s why I liked it so much.

    I think the sequel for Size 12 is coming out soon.

    Reply
  • 5. melrose plant  |  September 13, 2006 at 7:11 am

    I too enjoyed Swordspoint. Actually, my least favourite was Fall of the Kings.

    Hey, aren’t you proud?!!? Me being the little fantasy writer and all.

    I think the thing I missed most in Privilege was the lack of Richard St. Vier…. I love him!

    I hope she writes more in that world .

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  September 14, 2006 at 12:17 am

    You know, I didn’t actually read enough of Fall of the Kings to remember why I didn’t like it. :) I think it was the lack of Richard, but I could be wrong. I remember flipping through it looking for him and being disappointed…

    Reply
  • 7. hi  |  January 15, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    I LOVE MEG CABOT!!! #1FAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 8. orangel101  |  June 6, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    I love manga. I love Avalon High.

    Manga
    +
    Avalon High
    =
    I am sooooooooooooo happy!!!

    P.S. I also love Mag Cabot.

    Reply
  • 9. MissDanaBanana  |  August 2, 2007 at 11:23 am

    I don’t really mind Meg writing sequels. I like most of her books, and always want to read more. But to be honest I don’t really like The Princess Diaries. They just aren’t my type of story. I enjoyed Queen of Babble, and Avalon High quite a lot (although I would’ve probably enjoyed it more without the King Arthur thing). I am currently reading The Boy Next Door, which is good so far. I was disappointed when I heard the sequel to Avalon High would be a Manga, and I didn’t enjoy it much either. It was too short, and I prefer reading proper novels!

    Reply
  • 10. beth  |  May 26, 2008 at 11:41 am

    cool i never thought they would make a manga i know the mana is gonna be great since the book is so great too THANKS Meg We Love U ANd UR amAZing Books & n0w Including a ManGa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

