Prince of Tennis live action

September 3, 2006 at 12:31 pm 22 comments

Okay, this has probably been around for ages, but a friend told me today that they’ve made a live action Prince of Tennis movie.  The trailer is awesome and all special tennis moves are intact!  (And from the brief shot that I saw of Fuji, he looks very pretty.)  Here’s the preview, courtesy of You Tube:

I think it’s coming out on dvd in Japan in late September. 

Entry filed under: manga, movies.

It seemed like a good idea at the time New anime and my new manga

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Courtney  |  September 3, 2006 at 1:04 pm

    Oh, squee indeed! I first saw the trailers months ago, and have been waiting rather impatiently for the movie to come out.

    Fuji is played by Aiba Hiroki… the same guy who is currently playing Fuji in the Prince of Tennis musicals (and my personal favourite Fuji from the musicals). The kid is ADORABLE. In fact, everyone on the Seigaku team was in the musicals except for the kid playing Echizen, and they’re all not only adorable but quite good too.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  September 3, 2006 at 6:17 pm

    Okay – I’m intrigued. Do you mean it’s like a concert/broadway show type musical performed live or is it something that’s on dvd?

    Reply
  • 3. Courtney  |  September 3, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    Well…. It’s performed live, but it is also recorded during one of the performances. Apparantely, they do it with a number of anime series now. There’s a Bleach one too, though I’ve never seen it. But the Prince of Tennis ones are quite good – they take the stories in the manga and write songs for them, so it’s basically a bunch of Japanese kids running around on stage, dancing with tennis rackets and singing. Quite amusing.

    The offical website for the musicals is http://www.mmv.co.jp/products/flyer/tennis_musical/ … You also might be able to find torrents for the musicals around, but most of them haven’t been subbed, so it’d be in the raw Japanese.

    Reply
  • 4. TangognaT » manga adaptations  |  September 4, 2006 at 1:06 am

    […] Anime Pilgrimage posts about a hilarious Rose of Versailles car ad. Prince of Tennis Live Action Trailer! Bleach airs on Adult swim soon, here’s a promo. […]

    Reply
  • 5. amapyjama  |  September 4, 2006 at 10:10 am

    I’ve become busy with RO. And when I come to visit… You have written almost every single day I have been gone. T_T I’ll have to catch up sometime. Dx

    Reply
  • 6. SAM-urai  |  September 4, 2006 at 10:19 pm

    I know Wiki is not one of the best sources…but here’s more info on the musicals…

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Prince_of_Tennis_Musicals

    huuhuuhuuu…is the whole D-Boys group acting in the Live Action?!..interesting…I swear I’ve seen Kanata Hongo somewhere else, but when looking at his accomplishments, I don’t recognize anything..

    Reply
  • 7. SAM-urai  |  September 4, 2006 at 10:25 pm

    sorry to doublepost but here’s a link to one of the performance clips of the musical

    Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  September 4, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    Uhhhh… okay, I think I’ll have to just stick with the movie. I don’t do well with live music performances… :) It was interesting though – thanks for the link. I was going to see if I could dig it up myself.

    Reply
  • 9. pajcat  |  September 4, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    I love that Wikipedia has a category for Japanese Prince of Tennis musicals though. :)

    Reply
  • 10. cyndi  |  September 22, 2006 at 12:49 am

    hi people well i just watch the prince of tennis the movie well its kind of boring because tezuka never have a match only eichizen and atobe i hate his stle so ugly and i bet all of u agree with me am i right or am i right.

    Reply
  • 11. pajcat  |  September 22, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    Do you mean you’ve seen the live action movie already? If so, I’m jealous! I haven’t seen the movie they did for the anime yet either. Tezuka isn’t my favorite character (I find it really hard to believe he’s a junior high student, and such a flawless player) so I don’t mind so much when he’s gone… :)

    Reply
  • 12. kaito  |  September 27, 2006 at 4:07 am

    i thought that fuji in the musical was done by a female… or is the the seiyuu?

    Reply
  • 13. pajcat  |  September 27, 2006 at 7:27 am

    Hmm. I haven’t seen the musicals but the cast list in Wikipedia has an actor playing Fuji. According to the encyclopedia at Anime News Network, the anime Fuji is played by a woman.

    Reply
  • 14. Sevvy  |  September 30, 2006 at 5:28 am

    The guy who played Fuji in the musicals, Hiroki Aiba, is also the one to play Fuji in the live action. The seiyuu voicing Fuji in the anime is female, but the actor in musicals/movie is not. Aiba rocks as Fuji btw ^__^ But I’d preferred Kato Kazuki (from the musicals) to have the role as Atobe. Also I would’ve wanted to see Oshitari’s musical actor, Takumi Saito, in the movie, but I’m gonna give this new guy a chance :3 Shirota as Tezuka =

    Reply
  • 15. ERTY  |  October 28, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    Ryoma looked cuter in anime form.

    Reply
  • 16. jhong  |  August 18, 2007 at 7:46 am

    eiji rules…………………………….

    Reply
  • 17. jhong  |  August 18, 2007 at 7:47 am

    eiji rockzzzzzzzzzzzz…………………….

    Reply
  • 18. ai  |  August 18, 2007 at 7:48 am

    tezuka i love you!!!!

    Reply
  • 19. jai  |  August 18, 2007 at 7:52 am

    ang gwapo ng seigaku team they rock yeeeaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh

    Reply
  • 20. jai  |  August 18, 2007 at 7:54 am

    jirah gwapa

    Reply
  • 21. jai  |  August 18, 2007 at 7:55 am

    april ganda

    Reply
  • 22. valeriamontoyaaidz  |  November 13, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    I have found this site don’t know how it is possible but i can watch tennis live at http://leerdo.com/streams/live/tennis92256.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

