It seemed like a good idea at the time

September 2, 2006 at 11:05 am 5 comments

Today’s blog thing is my new header.  This is one of those ideas that I came up with at three in the morning after being awake for about 30 hours.  I know it’s weird, but it stuck in my head so I’m getting it out of my system.  Indulge me.

Manga fans should recognize the new header.  :)  It took me forever to find this pattern, even though it’s one I see a lot while reading.  You never find stuff once you start looking for them.  One thing it’s done is make me a lot more aware of the kinds of stock backgrounds manga authors use.  (Hana-Kimi, for instance, uses a lot of flowers…)

I hadn’t anticipated how colourless my layout would look, however.  My Ouran roses added a much needed splash of colour at the top, and that’s gone.  I might experiment more with the background colours available, but I’m a blue girl at heart…

BTW, I chose this pattern because I’ve always liked it.  The cactus reminds me of Digimon (always, every time I see it I think of that darn show) which in turn reminds me of my nephew.  It’s always been one of his favorite anime series so I used to watch it in a show of solidarity.  Plus, it really wasn’t that bad.  :)

I’ve never quite understood the point of this background, though.  Some are for texture, like dots or lines, some are pretty or cute, like flowers or bunny heads with bows.  Why cactus (cacti?) with faces though?  Is this a thing in Japan I’m unaware of or is it really just for the randomness and weirdness of it?  If anyone knows, please enlighten me.

Entry filed under: blogging, manga.

Whining narrowly averted… Prince of Tennis live action

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tangognat  |  September 3, 2006 at 12:08 am

    Those totally look like cactaurs from Final Fantasy to me. The way they are holding their arms is exactly like the video game.

    Reply
  • 2. Courtney  |  September 3, 2006 at 7:55 am

    No idea why they use the cacti background, but whenever I see cacti of any kind (this background included) it tends to make me think of Fuji from Prince of Tennis. And I am SO not complaining about that.

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  September 3, 2006 at 11:54 am

    …. Okay, I’m at a loss. Why Fuji? :) Who is, btw, my favorite Prince of Tennis character, whom I have dubbed the Tennis Avenger…

    I’ve never played Final Fantasy, but I guess I can see these things popping up in video games, too. Cacti seem to be a popular shape to use. The last couple of volumes of Decendants of Darkness had a cactus spirit/familiar, complete with pot. He didn’t do much…

    Reply
  • 4. Courtney  |  September 3, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    Fuji apparantely has a thing for cacti. In a couple of the bromides, he’s carrying a cactus… (I’d link to the pictures, but cannot for the life of me find them.) So now, cacti will forever be associated to Fuji in my head.

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  September 3, 2006 at 1:20 pm

    Right! I remember now. I wasn’t sure if it was going to be some sort of new tennis move I hadn’t gotten to yet. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

