Hot Gimmick novel!

August 31, 2006 at 2:42 am 6 comments

Yay!  It’s way too late and I should be in bed but… the last volume of Hot Gimmick beckoned.  I loved it.  Ryoki was an irritable romantic, Hatsumi finally grew most of a spine but actually thought the words, “Maybe if we got married, he’d finally be nice to me.”  arg!  But also heh, in an appalling sort of way.  It’s so them.  The last half of the book has an incredibly cute Akane/Subaru story and…

The Hot Gimmick novel will be out in English in February 2007!  I’ve heard mixed reviews about the alternate ending, but I’m definitely going to look forward to it.

Entry filed under: manga.

Rocking out with Mokona Gerard and Jacques

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melrose plant  |  August 31, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    I just read Goodnight Nobody by Jennifer Weiner.

    Hot Gimmick makes pajcat happy. So I am happy for pajcat.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  August 31, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    Pajcat is *very* happy. Pajcat also wants someone to translate the xxxHOLIC novel…

    I like Jennifer Weiner, but I don’t think she’s as good as everyone says she is. Also, I finally read Twilight. It was pretty good.

    Reply
  • 3. Courtney  |  August 31, 2006 at 6:53 pm

    (Rach sent me here a couple of weeks ago, and I’m making my first comment, le shock!)

    I’m happy to hear that the last volume of Hot Gimmick was good. I’m so looking forward to it, and hope I can pick it up at some point in the near future! (I’ve also muchly been looking forward to the novel, though am somewhat skeptical… the only novel I’ve read was the Gravitation one, and that was bad… so I really ought not to judge based soley on that, though…)

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  August 31, 2006 at 11:50 pm

    Hi! It’s nice to meet you! :) Well…. I’ve read four or five manga novelizations now and you’re right – the writing isn’t really very good in them. I kind of dropped my expectations for the novels quite a bit and just try to enjoy the plots. It makes me wince less while I’m reading. :)

    Reply
  • 5. Olivia  |  September 10, 2006 at 10:31 am

    I really can’t look forward to the Hitomi/Shinobu pairing in the novel. I thought that they were cute in the manga, but I just couldn’t see them together as a couple. If anything, I could see the Asusa/Hitomi pairing more. It’s not really a brother-sister thing, I was really hoping that Shinobu would get together with Subaru’s sister. She was the one who was perfect for him. I think that with Hitomi, he was in love with the idea of who she would be, not with who she really was. I just don’t see the reality living up to the fantasy he has built up in his head. I am looking forward to the secret of Shinobu’s birth. I’ve got my money on him being Asusa’s brother. Asusa, Shinobu, & Ryoki all seem to look a little alike, especially Asusa & Shinobu. I think that Asusa is the son of his mom & her husband, Shinobu’s the son of Ryoki’s dad & Asusa’s mom, and well, we all know who Ryoki’s parents are. I loved the manga, but it just felt a bit rushed.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  September 11, 2006 at 1:45 am

    No, I loved Shinogu as a romantic rival for Hatsumi in the manga, and I adored him as a character, but I never really believed he was good for her. He would have spent the rest of their lives coddling her, while Ryoki is the one that forces her to be more assertive (I said “more” please note. She never quite gets there… but I had hope for the future) and grow.

    The only thing that disappointed me about the end of Hot Gimmick (and I posted this months ago when a friend sent me the original manga in Japanese) was Shinogu. I mean, joining a monestary to wait for Hatsumi?? I *really* wanted him to acknowlege the sister/brother thing and try to move on. And yeah, Subaru’s sister would have been perfect for that. I wanted Shinogu to be happy, too, but there he was… stuck in self-sacrifice land. sigh.

    I haven’t seen a lot about the novel. I was reading some complaints a while back from Shinogu/Hatsumi shippers about how they *really* don’t get together in the novel after all and then I moved on. If I didn’t get to read it myself I didn’t want to get envious, and now I don’t want to be too spoiled, so I won’t go back. I get the impression, though, it’s not quite a “what would happen if Hatsumi picked Shinogu after all” story. I could be wrong, though. Don’t quote me on that. :)

    And you have an interesting theory regarding Shinogu’s birth. I admit I haven’t really been curious about it… his parentage didn’t seem like a big deal in the manga. It was all about Azusa…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

