Curse you Viz!

August 23, 2006 at 11:42 pm 11 comments

This week was all about Viz!  I picked up 8 new manga and left 5 behind….  I’ll go back on Friday and will probably get the rest then.  Same deal as last week – I’ll try to update my boring little list as I read the new stuff… 

Ouran High School Host Club 7 – Kyoya gets trapped in a mall with no money and no cell phone!  Fortunately Haruhi comes to the rescue.  Also, Hunny’s brother Chika shows up determined to defeat his brother once and for all (and Mori’s brother is here too – they left him out of that episode of the anime).  There’s also a story with the Zuka Club girls kidnapping Haruhi (the Club guys and her father try to come to the rescue) and we get a glimpse of the twins as 5 year olds (so cute!) and their most beloved nanny….

Gals! 7
Whistle 13
Skip Beat 2
Yakitate!! Japan 1
Rozen Maiden 2
Beauty Pop 1

….and….

I had this conversation at the store today with my comic store friend:

Me, thinking as I browsed the new stuff: Zombie Powder?  Powder?  That’s… so lame.
CSF: There are a lot of new books this week, huh?
Me: Yeah, but what’s up with some of these titles, anyway?  Zombie Powder?  heh.
CSF: That’s from the guy who does Bleach!
Me:  ….  What?  Really??  Arg!  Now I can’t mock it anymore!

I also had to buy it when I had very virtuously decided to stop buying.  Such a hard life.  Anyway, it’s one of the few I’ve read so far and I really really liked it.  If you’ve read Bleach you already know what the art style looks like – it’s pretty close.  Maybe a bit rougher in places since it’s his first book, but I thought it was amazing how good the art is. 

A boy named Elwood gets caught up with a criminal named Gamma Akutabi and joins him on his quest for the 12 Rings of the Dead, which is the source of “Zombie Powder” a mysterious substance that can raise the dead and grant immortality.  This is a western/sci fi type book (think Trigun if Vash were scary) and very much an action story.  I laughed when I read the author’s introduction inside the book:

Hello, Kubo here.  This is my first graphic novel.  Mainly, it’s all battles.  It’s completely OK to just read through it without thinking about anything.  But if you feel like it, go ahead and recall some of these details as you read.  Like for example, in here, the one thing that brings the dead back to life is not God, or an angel, or a Phoenix, but Zombie Powder.  A powder that has a really annoying name.

My friend also had the nerve to call me a geek when I went back for it.  I countered with “Who’s playing a para para remix of anime tunes in the store??”  I believe it was a draw on the geek front.   We also assured a guy that Yakitate!! Japan had only gotten good reviews as far as we both had heard.  “Well, if it’s about bread… how could it be anything less than great?” was his vaguely bewildered answer.  I think he bought it though.  :)

Entry filed under: manga, ouran.

Bits and Pieces still not blogging….

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. XenMaster  |  August 24, 2006 at 2:58 am

    Zombie Powder huh. Interesting…

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  August 24, 2006 at 9:14 am

    It IS interesting, in a simple plot, lots of fights with chainsaws and rocket powered swords kind of way….

    Seriously, though. I had fun reading that one.

    Reply
  • 3. Ama  |  August 24, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    I apologize for not keeping up to date with you. :( I’ve been at work for a week now, and it’s 9-5, so I’ve been busier than expected.

    I wanted to tell you, in case you didn’t know, Stranger Than Fiction looks like it’ll be a great movie, if you haven’t seen the trailer. I saw the trailer when I went to see Talladega Nights. It’s about an author who’s trying to figure out how to kill a character off in her novel… except he exists! So he constantly hears her narrating his life. It stars Will Ferrell so I expect some laughs, but it’s about an author, so I doubly want to see it.

    There’s also Borat, which could be nothing but hilarious with a Kazakhstanian learning about America.

    And finally, Man of the Year with Robert Williams. Who is insanely amazing, but the movie looks great. Actually, all the trailers were good. (The other one was Beerfest)

    I apologize if none of this stuff matters to you or you know already. ^_^;

    PS: I didn’t know Zombie Powder was by Tite Kubo… huh…

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  August 24, 2006 at 11:56 pm

    Hi! I figured you were busy. :) I read that Chibi Vampire series last weekend (or the two that are out so far) so I was thinking of you. Thanks for recommending them – I really liked it!

    I do want to see Stranger Than Fiction. I like Emma Thompson and it looks like an interesting idea for a movie. I haven’t heard of Borat, though.

    Good luck with your job – it always takes a while to get into a new routine, I find. And Zombie Powder was REALLY good, tho not very deep. I didn’t mind though… :)

    Reply
  • 5. amapyjama  |  August 25, 2006 at 7:25 am

    I am still Ama! I just finally managed to get a WordPress. (:

    Chibi Vampire is great… Did I tell you there’s an anime called Karin? I don’t think it’s licensed yet, but that’s how I found out.

    As for the job, it’s 9-5, so it’s only until the 7th when school starts up again, but I’ll make lots of money to spend on… stuff. xD

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  August 26, 2006 at 9:12 pm

    Yes, curse you, I have heard of Karin… I just spent three days downloading. It’s all your fault. :)

    Hope you pick some good… stuff to spend your hard earned $$ on. :)

    Reply
  • 7. amapyjama  |  August 27, 2006 at 8:48 am

    Well enjoy Karin. It’s one of my favorite anime and I’m going to download it in rm format so I can burn it. But the Rapidshare time limit keeps me from downloading it all at once so it’s steady going.

    Have you been to the Ex!? :D

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  August 27, 2006 at 11:41 am

    Thanks! I’m trying to decide if I’m going to watch Karin or Yakitate Japan right now. Either way, it’s definitely time to get some files off of my hard drive.

    I will generally go to the Ex about once every five years or so. I don’t know why – it just doesn’t appeal to me, I guess. Some friends went on Friday – I’ll hear about it from them and then I won’t feel like I’m missing anything. :) Have fun if you go (or went)!

    Reply
  • 9. amapyjama  |  August 28, 2006 at 10:44 am

    I went. =) I bought stuff. Did you know they sell random out of print manga? I didn’t buy any but yeah. I also bought clothes, got food, won prizes, went on ride. It’s awesome to go, I go every year.

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  August 28, 2006 at 6:35 pm

    Hmm, the used/bargain book tents, right? I went last year for a day and I remember browsing through the tent and being surprised to find manga. Nothing good, though. :( Glad you had fun.

    Reply
  • 11. amapyjama  |  August 28, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    Yeah, it’s all out of print. I was going to get one but I had to buy 3 and I thought that was stupid so I bought a few movies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

