Too much tv!

August 10, 2006 at 10:31 pm 11 comments

Tonight’s exercise was trying to figure out the fall schedule for returning tv shows that I wanted to watch, and some of the new shows that caught my interest.  I haven’t had this many programs on my “to watch” list in years.  Is it going to be a couch potato kind of winter?  I’ll have to plan on knitting Christmas gifts again this year to justify so much time in front of the tv!  (Hmm, or put last winter’s crochet class to good use.  Is there an afghan in my future?)  There’s a general overview of the new shows over at TV Guide that was a good start.

Premier dates for returning shows:

Bones – Wednesday, August 30
Supernatural – Thursday, September 28
Veronica Mars – Tuesday, October 3
Lost – Wednesday, October 4
Battlestar Galactica – Friday, October 6

New shows to check out:

Heros – Monday, September 25
Ugly Betty – Thursday, September 28
30 Rock – Wednesday, October 11  (Alec Baldwin!)

Shows that are getting a shot, because I like one of the cast members:

Vanished – Monday, August 21 (Uhhh… no one really stands out for this, tho I do like Ming-Na and Rebecca Gayheart.  I’m not sure how the single case format is going to hold up for a whole season, but I’ll give it a try.)
Standoff – Tuesday, September 5 (Gina Torres rocks!)
Smith – Tuesday, September 19 (Because of Jonny Lee Miller and Amy Smart, but despite Ray Liotta)
Six Degrees – Thursday, September 21 (It’s a J.J. Abrams show… aren’t we just required to watch it whether we like it or not?  Kidding.  It seems like it might be interesting.)
Friday Night Lights – Tuesday, October 3 (For Kyle Chandler because I’ve been a fan since Early Edition)

Good grief.  There’s no way I can watch all this… and I haven’t even checked out the new cartoons yet!

Entry filed under: television.

Slighty less impressive manga haul this week Battlestar Galactica season 3

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  August 11, 2006 at 11:13 am

    I wanted to see Ugly Betty, but that’s about it.

    Reply
  • 2. melrose plant  |  August 11, 2006 at 1:07 pm

    hmmm Veronica Mars. Here in boonieland we do not get SUNtv so someone ( of the Morticia or PAjcat persuasion ) might have to be coaxed into helping Melrose get her logan fix.

    Either that or they could teach me how to download VM from up here.

    ;)

    glad you have a couch potato season ahead.

    If I wasn’t such a terrible knitter, I would be doing the same thing.

    Reply
  • 3. XenMaster  |  August 11, 2006 at 1:42 pm

    Speaking of things to watch, check this out:
    http://filmforce.ign.com/articles/723/723001p1.html
    Then after check this too:
    http://filmforce.ign.com/articles/724/724835p1.html

    I had no idea some of these were being made.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  August 11, 2006 at 2:08 pm

    Melrose, I will TOTALLY hook you up with Veronica Mars if you need me to! Or… whatever. :) It sounds like there’s going to be lots of Logan stuff this year, but I’m trying to avoid spoilers. I did find out one thing that sounds interesting, but I’m being good!

    I don’t think there’s any way I can watch most of this – I’ll get bored or forget it’s all on, but I want to at least catch the premieres.

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  August 11, 2006 at 6:10 pm

    Okay, how much of a geek am I that I knew about all but one of those movies… and most of the animated stuff. I’m glad Marvel is making more animated movies, but I always think of a lot of their heroes as semi-lame. And I STILL haven’t seen the Avengers cartoon and now the second one is out…

    Reply
  • 6. Ama  |  August 11, 2006 at 9:14 pm

    :O If you’re going to hook Melrose Plant up, could you hook me up too? I haven’t seen any of VM season 1, and I made a friend who was going to let me borrow her box, but I’m not counting on it because she’s friends with my enemy and doesn’t seem to want to quit anytime soon. She’s also a busy person, so even if she WOULD still lend me her box, it might be a long time from now.

    Reply
  • 7. pajcat  |  August 12, 2006 at 12:48 am

    Hmm. Melrose actually means that she wants season 3 taped as it plays on tv, ’cause where she lives she doesn’t get channel 15 (which is where season 2 is playing right now and season 3 will be on this fall). Your friend really won’t lend you VM? That kinda sucks. :( Can you find it to rent anywhere? Rogers? Blockbuster? Suspect Video?

    Reply
  • 8. Ama  |  August 12, 2006 at 1:46 pm

    x_x I’ll search Bittorrent when I get some room on the computer.

    As for my friend, yeah, she’s got me blocked I think (But then again, I’m really paranoid right now) but I don’t know. I could try asking her again in a month or two.

    Reply
  • 9. XenMaster  |  August 13, 2006 at 10:03 pm

    After I download the second Avengers movie I’ll put them on DVD for you next time we meet up.

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  August 13, 2006 at 10:22 pm

    Ooooh! Thanks. That’s going to be the evil con in September, right? :)

    Reply
  • 11. XenMaster  |  August 14, 2006 at 2:45 pm

    Yup! I’m probably only going for one day though. Not sure if it’ll be Saturday or Sunday, but I think I’d rather go Saturday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

