Slighty less impressive manga haul this week

August 9, 2006 at 10:33 pm 4 comments

There was a LOT less manga that came in this week!  Out of about 10 or so new books I only bought one, which was Midori Days #7.  Midori is starting to examine her new life and is trying to figure out if life as Sawamura’s right hand is really better than her old one.  Next volume it’ll all be over!  I also bought Aishiteruze Baby #3, that was left behind last week.  The reason Yuzuyu’s mom left her is revealed and one of her pre-school classmates has a dangerous secret! 

I took another look at the other books I didn’t buy last week and decided to pass on Yubisaki Milk Tea #2.  I just don’t care enough to buy it.  Of course, I’ll read it at the bookstore on Saturday and see if I like the series more then.  Maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for cross-dressing this week…

One odd thing I saw today was Star Trek: the Manga.  Really??  It seems to be an OEL title, which made me less interested, but the comic store guy was pretty enthusiastic about it so I’ll try to remember to ask him about it next week. 

I also took a walk up to 1 000 000 Comix on the odd chance they’d have the new 4.2 Farscape Starburst dvd set that I’m having a hard time finding (Yonge St – you have FAILED me!!) and ended up accidentally buying last month’s Flash again and the Young Avengers/Runaways Civil War crossover that may or may not be in my file at my regular comic store.  Oops!  I kind of rushed my comic browsing though.  I actually forgot it was Wednesday for a minute and when I walked in I was surprised by the crush of men and no other women.  That can make me feel awkward depending on my mood.  The staff is always very nice and helpful there, but there’s hardly ever any other women when I go in for some reason.  Very different than my two regular stores.

And I just went to Amazon to link to the Farscape set and they have it in stock today!  Sometimes obsessive checking pays off!  I’m off to order it now….

Entry filed under: manga.

Bunnies! Too much tv!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  August 10, 2006 at 9:57 am

    T_T So much new manga came out on Tuesday!

    I can’t believe they only had a couple new titles for you! Anyways, I wanted to buy Peach Girl: Sae’s Story, Chibi Vampires 2, and Chobits 7 but I only ended up having enough money for ONE since two of my cards had 0 dollars on them when I thought they had $10 each. It was depressing. At least the third had 6 dollars or so on it and I was able to get Chibi Vampires 2, the reason I went.

    Have you read Life? It’s a really good drama, it reminds me of Hot Gimmick, except a lot more serious. There’s 2 volumes out so far, but the next isn’t out till December! I read them at the bookstore on Tuesday. Othello’s good too, but I think you have all of it.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  August 10, 2006 at 6:33 pm

    Well, I suppose after buying 13 last week it was a good thing not a lot came in. I thought the new Hana Kimi was supposed to be there, but it comes out next week. I was pretty disappointed.

    Haven’t read Life. I think I thought it sounded a bit over dramatic, or kind of like Confidential Confessions, which I didn’t love. I own half of Othello and I ended up borrowing the rest of the series. I ended up liking it a lot more towards the end than when I stopped buying it.

    Reply
  • 3. Ama  |  August 10, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    She’s a bit over angsty, but then again, I read the whole thing because it said she cut, and I wanted to know what cutting was like. I guess the entire point of the story is feeling you can relate to the character, and in a way, I could.

    I haven’t tried Confidential Confessions. Hmm, maybe I should read that next time I’m at Indigo.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  August 11, 2006 at 12:02 am

    Urg. It’s depressing. The first volume is like, practically a suicide manual. Not for me! The cutting thing is probably why I skipped Life….

    (BTW, I added some new titles to my TPL manga list in the comments… There are still a couple of volumes I wanted to double check, but there’s a new little list there if you’re interested.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

