Gratuitious blog post while vacationing

July 26, 2006 at 10:53 pm 10 comments

My nephew insists I blog for some reason tonight, so despite doing nothing but lying on the couch for the past few days, reading, rewatching some anime and offering commentary for his battles while he plays Soul Calibur III, here goes.  Just for him.

(And speaking of Soul Calibur, he was losing one battle rather badly, then… KO! He won!  Apparently the character has a suicide move.  Those are the kind of opponents I’d need if I played fighting games – suicidal ones.)

Last night I read Gorgeous Carat Galaxy, which is a continuation of the regular Gorgeous Carat series.  (Only click on the “Gorgeous Carat Galaxy” link at the DMP site if you want major spoilers for the manga.)  I admit I’m a bit disappointed in this book.  I found the plot to be really, hmm, loose?  Basically the author could have told the story in half the time if she had tightened up the plot a bit.  It kind of rambled and made little sense in places.  The art was similar to the regular series, but I didn’t like Noir having a cigar clamped in his lips for most of the book.  It got tired pretty quickly and looked a little goofy.  There also didn’t seem to be much point to the story.  It was a fairly standard murder mystery with a couple of twists thrown in, but didn’t do much to advance the characters of either Florian (the perpetual victim) or Noir and especially didn’t do much for their relationship. 

Ever since Florian was “bought” as a payment for a debt by the infamous phantom thief Noir of Paris, the two have been in each other’s company. One day, the two encounter a murder mystery at the castle surrounded by “The forest of the sacred beast.” An unsuspecting Florian is in grave danger…

We also went to see My Super Ex-Girlfriend yesterday, which gets a rating of “glad I saw it, don’t need to buy it.”  Today we went all the way downtown so I could buy the new Teen Titans comic.  Robin and Wonder Girl kissed in the last issue (not a romantic one, an emotionally traumatized one) and I was kind of looking forward to seeing what the fall-out would be.  But… but… it didn’t come out today.  Teen Titans Go! did, damnit!  I ended up buying Batman instead.  (There’s much angst on the DC boards tonight about Batman chucking a wounded Joker into a dumpster instead of, oh I don’t know… kissing his boo boos better?)  :P

Now, back to the couch!  I’m on vacation darnit!  We’re listening to the theme from Strawberry Marshmallow again tonight.  I think we’re in the triple digits on this song now.  It’s on A-B repeat on the dvd player and just keeps going and going and going and going…

Entry filed under: manga, rambling.

Strawberry Marshmallow Swing Girls

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  July 27, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    Sounds like you’re having fun. I wish I had time off. I have a bad sunburn, and I just want to sleep. Thank god camp ends tomorrow. I’ll miss it, but I want some summer.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  July 27, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    It’s been kind of a weird vacation, but yeah, it’s fun. Are you away at camp or is it a day thing? You have the internet at camp? I had a sunburn a few weeks ago and it was pretty painful. Normally it all peels then I’m white again, but this year it actually faded into a tan. :)

    Reply
  • 3. Amy  |  July 27, 2006 at 11:10 pm

    You are a wonderful Aunt. There is no way i could listen to a song that continuously. Glad to hear that you have had a restful vacation, and that your nephews are spending quality time with you!

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  July 28, 2006 at 12:06 am

    Yeah, well. I do it for me sometimes, too. :) I made him eventually turn it off one night. Don’t want to go completely insane.

    My mom actually had to go out of town because of a death in the family so it’s just been the two of us most of the week. Nephew the Younger came over one day and that was fun. I don’t get to see enough of him. :(

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  July 28, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    Actually, camp is just a day thing. It’s over now. I never have to see some of my favorite annoying kids again, even though I’ll miss the boy I fought for a pool noodle with. My sunburn is fading into a pink and my shoulders no longer hurt when I raise my arms up in the air nor when I have a bag on my back. I wanted to go see Monster House today, but we saw You, Me and Dupree instead. WHICH ROCKED MY SOCKS OFF. It was great, different, kept you guessing, and I looooooved Dupree. It’s just so… great. If you haven’t seen it, you really should, if you get the time. I liked it just as much as Wedding Crashers, if not more.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  July 28, 2006 at 10:05 pm

    Glad you liked You Me and Dupree. I went to the other Wilson brother’s movie (My Super Ex-Girlfriend) which I guess I didn’t like as much as you liked yours. :)

    Reply
  • 7. XenMaster  |  July 29, 2006 at 12:30 am

    It sounds like you’re playing that theme song over and over as much as I used to with the Galaxy Angel theme song.

    “Doki Doki!”

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  July 29, 2006 at 12:37 am

    I haven’t heard it in two days now… I think I’m going into withdrawal… Actually we watched a bunch of Rozen Maiden the other day and I was reminded that *I* used to put that on repeat too. Some songs are just addictive!

    Reply
  • 9. Ama  |  July 29, 2006 at 8:10 am

    I actually don’t really like Luke Wilson much. I’m glad his small pathetic role in Legally Blonde made it what the movie was, but… I don’t know. I don’t think he’s a very good actor. Ok, I take that back partially. He has nice roles in awesome movies… But he always ends up playing something akin to an idiot. Maybe he is one?

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  July 29, 2006 at 11:15 am

    I think he’s okay. I wouldn’t go “Oh, Luke Wilson is in this movie. I HAVE to go see it!” but I like him. He’s a lot more laid back than his brother is, anyway. Or do I mean less charming/wheedling? He did a pretty good job in this movie, but I admit to not seeing a lot of his other roles. Legally Blonde and Charlies Angels is about it… Oh, and one of the Wes Anderson films. The Royal Tanenbaums. He’s good as part of a group.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

