My Cat Loki

July 9, 2006 at 4:32 pm 9 comments

As a child, Ameya had always considered his cat more a sibling than a pet.  As the years went by, their bond grew ever tighter.  But the day his feline “brother” died was the day Ameya withdrew from the world.

The story starts a few years later and Ameya (who has lost his inspiration as an artist) now owns an art gallery.  One day he argues with his agent about getting back into painting and runs out into the rain.  When Ameya finally stops to rest he hears a “mew” coming from under a bench and pulls out a little half-starved cat named Loki, who he then brings home.   Most of the volume deals with Ameya trying to get Loki to want to stay with him (he gets quite desperate at times) and Loki getting into the kind of scrapes that most cats get into.

This book manages to be really sweet, and sometimes sad without crossing into sugar shock territory.  Ameya is still traumatized about the death of Luka (the cat that died) but delighted to have a new little kitty around the house.  Very delighted.  He’s obviously a die hard cat person.  :)  Loki, however, is a young cat with attitude.  He has an appealing combination of cocky swagger (though taunting big dogs may not be the best idea) and shyness.  He also seems to have his own trauma to deal with, though I’m not sure yet if his fear of Ameya is the result of being plunked into an unfamiliar environment or if there’s a darker reason behind his fear of punishment.   He could be a cat with a past.  (Why *was* he under that bench in the rain?  Is he a runaway?  Cruelly kicked out of his home?  I’m curious.)

I almost passed on getting this, and was actually trying to convince my friend to buy it instead so that I could borrow it later.  She was too busy cooing over the comic store cat to pay much attention (um, and she doesn’t buy manga anyway) but then I was lured into buying it for myself after peeking at the uber cute drawings of Loki looking pissed off.   It was interesting, too, that Loki is not only drawn as a regular cat but also as a little catboy, mostly when “talking” to Ameya or another animal.  (It’s not a real transformation, btw.  It’s just perception and imagination.)  He’s *almost* as cute as a catboy and the artist did a great job at coming up with a human hairdo and wardrobe that really captures Loki’s fur patterns.

So, two thumbs up on this one, and I don’t think you’d need to be a cat person to be charmed by this book.  It’s an original title from Tokyopop, so hopefully the wait for volume two of My Cat Loki isn’t too long.

Updated to adda link to the graphic novel, which I had very cleverly forgotten to put in.  It looks like there’s already a review for it on Amazon from someone who loved Loki but thought Ameya was a bit over the top.  Which I guess he was, though it didn’t bother me very much while I was reading it. I did think, “Wow, this guy really loved his cat!” but it was part of his character, and there are people who really do love their pets that much so I didn’t focus on it very much.  It was all about the kitty for me.

Although I will mention that at one point Ameya chases after Loki and actually seems to expect the cat to stop.  I remember thinking, “Dude, you do not run after cats.  They will never let you catch them and will hiss at you if you try.  I speak from experience.”  He really should have known that. :P 

Entry filed under: manga.

Advertising works on me Dramacon Volume 2

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  July 10, 2006 at 6:08 pm

    The idea of My Cat Loki vaguely reminds me of A Dog’s Life by Mayle, Peter. It was the last book my teacher read to us for the year, and it’s a story told through the eyes of a dog. From pestering the cat, to the chickens, to the girl dog (Whom we later find is a ‘hussy’) Boy tells it all through the eyes of a dog. =) Now I’m gonna go look up My Cat Loki and see if I should sit in a bookstore and read it.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  July 10, 2006 at 6:15 pm

    I’ve never read that one. MCL was a pretty good read, though, and it did switch perspectives between Ameya and Loki, and even Loki went from silent/typical cat to one who would “talk” to other animals. IF you can find a bookstore that has it, I’d definitely give it a shot!

    Reply
  • 3. Ama  |  July 11, 2006 at 2:37 pm

    We went to Indigo today, but they didn’t have any manga I wanted, nor My Cat Loki. I’m afraid I might have made a fool of myself when I said ‘Awww.’ My friend looked at me, and I said, ‘Isn’t it cute?! They’re reading Naruto!’ (He only knows what Naruto is because it’s on TV) He probably had no idea what I meant when I said it was better in Japanese. But sure enough, the little girl and her brother were reading volume 9 of Naruto. I wonder if I embarrassed them, or just myself. ^^;

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  July 11, 2006 at 7:12 pm

    That’s a bit of a hazard, isn’t it? Sometimes I have to forcibly stop myself from talking to people browsing the manga section. Of course, if I’m working at the time I can ask them if they need help, or if there’s another staff member around I can usually chat with them about manga. I like it when I’m talking to a friend and someone else chimes in. It’s like I’ve found a new friend for about five minutes. :)

    Reply
  • 5. rockwatching  |  July 12, 2006 at 12:03 am

    I will be sure to check the book out, my cat Sidney was shot last year by a neighbour with a pellet gun. I guess he thought it would be fun. The cat had been cuddling with my wife in the backyard and he had just wandered out through the back fence and was not gone more than two minutes when he came running back frothing at the mouth. One of his lungs had been punctured. It turns out my dog had been shot in the face with a pellet gun as well and I just did’nt realize it until I checked him.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  July 12, 2006 at 1:47 am

    That’s terrible! I’m sorry to hear about your pets. It’s always hard to lose one, but to have someone hurt them deliberately… I just can’t imagine. I sincerely hope the neighbour was nailed for it.

    If you do read My Cat Loki I hope you like it. I thought Bettina Kurosaki managed to portray a young cat perfectly, though from her afterword it sounds like she’s a cat lover herself so it’s no surprise.  Actually, I guess the part I enjoyed the most about the book was Loki… Ameya could get very overemotional, which was odd at times, but I could live with it.

    Reply
  • 7. melrose plant  |  July 12, 2006 at 10:41 am

    Wow I wish I knew what you were talking about…. I really liked reading about Pirates though.

    good work ! ;)

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  July 12, 2006 at 7:23 pm

    I made sure I wrote about Pirates just for you… My Cat Loki is a graphic novel about a guy who finds a lost kitty, and he’s really neurotic. This one wasn’t in Japanese first, either. ;)

    Reply
  • 9. Patricia  |  January 23, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    This juvenile, JUSTIN, he has this sawed off pellet gun and has been going to the house next to where he lives and firing at close range at their sm. animals. My grand daughter told me of this and I called the neighbor about it. She checked the dogs and said they were all fine…but I don’t think they could be after he and one other gruesome buddy of his fired away at em. Another has this on a video and what should be done? This Justin is a 14 yr. old futuristic serial killer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

