Advertising works on me

July 7, 2006 at 7:26 am 5 comments

There were ads for two new manga series in some of my new books that now have me interested.  The first is Peach Girl: Sae’s Story.

The long-awaited spin-off to the bestselling Peach Girl series has finally arrived–and now Sae is the star!

Kairi and Momo are attending university together and are finally happy…but Sae has been left behind after failing her last year of high school–she should of attended class a bit more! Follow Sae’s adventures as she reunites with a childhood love and deals with high school life once again.

(Please note the spelling here is not my fault.  And are they changing the spelling of Kiley to Kairi officially?  Did Momo switch boyfriends?)  I’ll definitely be picking this one up, as Peach Girl has not disappointed me in the past.  Hopefully that tradition continues with this one.  :)

The second is a manga adaptation of Voices of a Distant Star.

To what distance would you go for your one true love? In a future filled with a boundless potential for interstellar peace and prosperity, Mikako joins a research team to explore the recent contact between humans and alien races. She ventures out into space, leaving behind Noboru, the one young man she loves. As she travels deeper into this new frontier, her only connection with her boyfriend is through cell-phone text messages. But the years pass, and Mikako barely ages in the timelessness of space–while Noboru grows older and considers moving on with his life…In this timeless romance between star-crossed lovers in the most tragic of settings, there are some places man may not be ready to go.

I really liked the anime, which was short, but very powerful. 

These are both from Tokyopop and should be coming out in August.  But it’s Tokyopop, so that could also mean end of July.

Entry filed under: manga.

Two CMX October previews My Cat Loki

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  July 7, 2006 at 2:47 pm

    OMFG, SAE’S STORY? I loved Sae. D8 I muuuuuuuust buy that~! How many volumes is it? -Goes to Tokyopop- Oh, and on the subs for Peach Girl, they referred to him as Kairi.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  July 7, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    I figured it was an l/r language thing, I was just surprised that Tokyopop didn’t switch the name to Kiley, since that’s what they used in the previous two series. I remembered that they did that in the fansubs I saw, but I hope they don’t change it for the manga – I like Kiley better. Not that it matters, ’cause it doesn’t seem like he’s going to be a main character this time. :)

    I think this could be a good series, but it’ll be interesting to see if they keep her character consistent with what it has been or if they’re going to turn her into a “good girl.” She kind of bopped around a bit personality-wise. She went from sneaky and backstabbing, to wimpy and beaten, back to sneaky, then to desperate (when she was in love which was soooo attractive). Hmm. Now that I think of it, I can’t remember quite where she left off in Change of Heart. Could be a good excuse to pull my Peach Girl manga out for a reread.

    Reply
  • 3. Ama  |  July 8, 2006 at 10:24 am

    Her personality changed a lot, but she was going through a lot of things, and when her first instincts failed, I guess she tried using whatever she knew how to do, which wasn’t much. I’m like that sometimes. I have to ask other people what to do or what they think because I can’t understand, nor do I know what to do. I’ve been pretty sheltered to change because I’ve never really moved and such.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  July 9, 2006 at 12:54 am

    We all get better with experience, I suppose (I hope!). The thing with Sae, is… she was more interesting when she was being bad. I thought she was really clingy and whiney when she was with Kiley’s brother (so can’t be bothered to look up his name right now…). Granted, she had a good excuse to be freaked out, it was just such a change from her earlier character – bad, but also very confident. Maybe she’ll run up against a Sae of her own…

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  July 9, 2006 at 9:53 am

    I didn’t really care about her change in character, I thought it was nicer when she showed a more human side of herself. Then again, I’m not into analyzing anime. I watch it solely for the entertainment and the enjoyment it brings me.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  July 10, 2006 at 6:22 pm

    Hmm, I’m not much into analyzing either, but I watch and read for the characters. I can always put up with a mediocre plot if I love the people in it, soooo… when someone goes through as many changes as Sae does it adds a lot to the story. It can also change my opinion of whether or not I like the final product. That’s why I had to stop reading Robin comics until the book got a new writer. He had no handle on the character and I was getting fed up with Robin acting so out of character… (I’m a Robin fangirl, more than any other superhero)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

