Holy manga, Batman!

July 5, 2006 at 11:47 pm 10 comments

When I went the comic store tonight I was greeted with the words, “We got 65 titles this week!”

….

I really didn’t have that kind of money on me.  Thankfully, a lot of it was Viz and Del Rey books that I had already bought from the bookstore, which I haven’t blogged about since I felt vaguely guilty about buying the Viz stuff early.  Even though I had nothing to feel guilty about, darnit!  Now of course I’m grateful, because really.  65 titles??  I probably would have needed about 25 of them.  As it was, I left the store with a mere 9 and will be going back next payday for a few more that were sadly left behind.  (Poor lonely manga!)  I was kind of leaning towards the series I was already collecting, but there were a few new titles I was interested in.  I just had to stop!  Hairy T is also having a Viz-for-US-cover-price sale which is annoying because I pretty much only needed the Tokyopop stuff.  Today I bought:

Ultra Cute 3
Whistle! 12
Satisfaction Guaranteed 1
Never Give Up 2
Gatcha Gacha 2
Redrum 327 #1
Strawberry Marshmallow 1 (for the uber cute factor)
Full Moon 6 (second last volume!)
My Cat Loki 1 (I normally don’t buy a lot of OEL manga, but holy crud the cat in this book is ADORABLE!  And really pissed off in the panels I was looking at.  :)  There’s no real information there yet, but if you follow this link to the creator’s website you’ll see a little illustration of Loki and you can see what I mean for yourself about the adorable thing…)

My manga from the past few weeks?  Let’s see…

Anne Freaks 2
Midori Days 6
Kare First Love 6-8
Fushigi Yugi Genbu Kaiden 4
Lost Boys
Same Cell Organism
Land of the Blindfolded 8
Ghost Hunt 4
Baby and Me 2
Kurogane 1
Skip Beat 1
Death Note 6
Tokyo Boys and Girls 5 (last volume!)
The Wallflower 8
La Esperanca 3
Megatokyo 4
Oyayubihime Infinity 1 (oi!  I’m not going to remember this one!)
Clan of the Nakagamis
Yellow 4 (last volume)
Our Kingdom 3
…but, I’m Your Teacher
Rising Storm
Empty Heart
Challengers 1

I think that’s most of it.  I also got Sgt Frog 1 that I passed on to my nephew.  I haven’t heard yet if he liked it or not. 

Okay, this is a boring list-type post.  Sorry ’bout that!  I’ve only read Ultra Cute of today’s haul and I’m not sure if I should mention this or not, but… Ah, what the heck.  Spoilers ahead!

When volume 2 of Ultra Cute came out I was in the midst of my age rating angst (since worked out of my system, thank goodness!) but this one really bothered me for a couple of reasons.  First, Tokyopop has rated it as “Youth 10+” which, okay, I don’t know what’s going to happen later on in the series.  It’s a teen romance, but if it doesn’t move past the kissing and warped romance part, whatever.  I doubt that’s anything a younger kid couldn’t handle.  The part that really bugged me about volume 2 was the lead characters, Ami and Noa get into this online love horoscope site.  One of the things they had to do was enter in all of their personal statistics (name, age, birthday, blah blah) to get the most accurate horoscope possible.  Which I hated, because the whole time I had this little voice in the back of my head yelling, “Little girls are reading this?? NEVER give out your personal information online!  Bad form!”  Then Ami, the nitwit, arranges to meet the love doctor in person.  In a bar.  ARG!!! 

I should also note at this point in time that I literally could not turn on the news without hearing some story about internet predators and girls getting assaulted, etc etc.  Like I needed to read a manga with a ditzy teen meeting an adult man in a bar that she met through the internet.  And this is a Youth rated book.

Anyway, the man ended up being one of her teachers (the one who flirts with her and Noa because they used to have a crush on him).  The volume ends with her going to his apartment (!) and him pushing her up against a wall.

Of course in the next book it ends up okay for Ami, and he turns out to not be interested in sexually assaulting her, but… we all know that’s pretty stupid behaviour, right?  Right?

Okay, I feel better for having vented a little about this.  It isn’t really bothering me as much anymore, but I’m glad I wrote about it anyway.  :)

Entry filed under: manga.

Your friendly neighborhood… Two CMX October previews

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  July 6, 2006 at 4:18 pm

    :(! Omg, Viz manga on sale? I wish I would spend the money.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  July 6, 2006 at 5:55 pm

    There’s also a 25% off ALL books at the Worlds Biggest Bookstore this friday and saturday… ALL books would cover manga. I can’t buy anything else this week, though. Next friday I’m being very bad, though… heh heh.

    Reply
  • 3. Ama  |  July 7, 2006 at 2:53 pm

    Nuuuuu. T_T You’re torturing me. I really don’t have the money at this point. I guess I’ll check and see if they have any manga I need to fill in missing pieces of my collection, and go if they do.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  July 7, 2006 at 3:00 pm

    Well, if you search on http://www.chapters.indigo.ca you can pick up to three bookstores to check inventory on. But Yonge St is having it’s street festival this weekend too, so there’s going to be a lot going on downtown… :)

    Reply
  • 5. Ama  |  July 8, 2006 at 10:26 am

    Ah, yes, I remember the Yonge St. festival. My first time was two years ago, when I bought my very first real manga at Paradise Comics. Inuyasha #2. Good times, good times. Since then, I’ve managed to get nearly 50 volumes of manga a year on my meager allowances and gift money. =)

    I suppose you could say the Pokemon manga should count more as my first manga, but I had no idea they were manga, I just thought they were comics, so I don’t count them.

    I checked, and they have the manga I need to fill in the gaps in my collection, but we’re busy today, so my mom can’t take me. =(

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  July 8, 2006 at 4:45 pm

    Hey, too bad! We have live music, sno cones, cotton candy and popcorn. Lots of popcorn…

    Reply
  • 7. Ama  |  July 9, 2006 at 9:54 am

    :( Aw darnit, I want popcorn! Wait, are you talking about the festival or the sale at the store?

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  July 10, 2006 at 6:18 pm

    At the store. Nothing but popcorn, all day. I think I made enough to fill about 300 bags… I don’t even LIKE popcorn!

    Reply
  • 9. Ama  |  July 11, 2006 at 2:39 pm

    It’s so awesome that you work there!

    I should go down there sometime. I need Demon Diary #6 and YGO Duelist 5. It would be so weird if I ended up asking you where the manga section was.

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  July 11, 2006 at 7:10 pm

    Heh. It’s pretty easy to find – just look for the Fruits Basket and Trigun wall scrolls hanging from the ceiling. They’re pretty cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

