Your friendly neighborhood…

July 3, 2006 at 11:24 pm 5 comments

Ooooh!  I finally got to see the new Spider-Man 3 trailer.  It’s supposed to be playing in front of Superman, but apparently they didn’t send any copies to the Soo – or so we were told last week when my brother asked. 

I really want this one to be better than the second movie.  One of the downsides of working in the multimedia section is playing to death new releases.  You see a movie enough times and pretty soon every single flaw is hitting you over the head each time it’s played.  The Spider-Man movies did not survive this process.  Only two movies ever have for me: The Fellowship of the Ring (the original theatrical version) and Galaxy Quest.  Go figure.

Speaking of trailers, I love this one from Monster House.  It’s one of the movies I’m most looking forward to this summer.

Entry filed under: movies.

Spooky! Holy manga, Batman!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  July 5, 2006 at 3:01 pm

    Monster House looks good.

    I wanted to watch the Spiderman-3 trailer, but it didn’t work. Oh well. I can’t wait to see Spiderman-3, god, Spiderman is like… the ONLY Marvel superhero I adore.

    Speaking of movies, I saw an ad for You, Me and Dupree on the way home from school today. Thank god for TTC buses. Without them, I’d never have known about this movie. I am counting down the days until it’s released. ALL FOR OWEN WILSON. =)

    Reply
  • 2. Ama  |  July 5, 2006 at 3:01 pm

    Oh darn, did I say school? I meant camp. Sorry, error there.

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  July 5, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    Hmm, that’s weird. You can’t play quicktime on your computer? I usually click on the large link and it starts right away… It looks like it’s going to be sooo good!

    I’m a Spider-Man fan, too. His are pretty much the only Marvel titles I buy now, and Ultimate Spider-Man is the best. I even started collecting the New Avengers ’cause Spidey joined the team. I stayed because it’s a good comic, though. I’m not *that* much of a fangirl!

    I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to go see You, Me and Dupree yet. I guess it’ll depend on what else is playing around then and how busy I am. I’m rarely disappointed by Owen Wilson.

    Reply
  • 4. Ama  |  July 8, 2006 at 10:29 am

    Oh, I clicked the medium link. Next time I get a chance, I’ll try the large one. I don’t care for trailers though, because often, I feel the movie is spoiled.

    When I was little, I remember being so frightened of the Green Goblin and his death. After we went to see the movie, I couldn’t sleep and I had nightmares. I was only 9. It took me until I was 12 to gather up the courage to revisit the film, keep my eyes open, and not be afraid.

    Then I bought the video tape a couple weeks ago so I can continue to enjoy the film. =)

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  July 9, 2006 at 1:06 am

    Hey – I went to see Pirates of the Caribbean tonight and they had a preview for a Ben Stiller movie about a security guard who works in a museum that comes to life at night. It looked really good, and Owen Wilson showed up! It’s a fall or winter movie, though.

    The first Spider-Man movie was pretty decent, all things considered. I see a lot of the flaws now, and I wish there was more Spider-Man than Peter Parker sometimes, but I think they did a good job. They just have to lay off of some of the cheese for the third movie (like that goofy subway scene in the second movie). I don’t think the trailer really gave anything away – it just sort of flashed on the characters, so you get to see who’s in the film and what they’re going to look like.

    One thing that I love about Ultimate Spider-Man is Peter is only 15 and coming up against all of these iconic villains for the first time. We know a lot about the characters, but he’s figuring it out for the first time. You miss that in the regular Spidey comics – it’s like they have to keep torturing him to keep it interesting or something. Watching him fighting the Green Goblin, or being friends with Harry… you kind of cringe ’cause you know it’s going to turn out badly.

    If you like the romance stuff, though, I just got two little graphic novels from the library called Mary Jane, and they’re told from her point of view. Spidey will show up in the middle of a fight and swing away, or Peter will walk by in a coffee shop, but it’s all told from MJ’s perspective. I also started to pick up the Spider-Man loves Mary Jane comic, which I think is a continuation (it’s from the same artist, anyway) and it’s neat because she’s been spending more time with Peter studying and slowly getting all of his good points…

    So, now I get to read Peter married to MJ, Peter dated then broke up with MJ, and Peter and MJ just getting to know each other. It’s kind of neat.

    Whew! That was a lot about Spidey! Sorry ’bout that! You should check out the Mary Jane gn’s from the library though. They were pretty good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

