Are you reading that backwards?

June 30, 2006 at 10:58 pm 10 comments

I was asked that tonight while I was waiting (and waiting) for the bus to arrive at the station and killing time reading some of my new manga.  Apparently they were behind schedule due to an impromptu victory parade for whichever team won the latest World Cup game.  Whatever.  You kind of get used to them after a while.  Anyway, I did the “yes, that’s how they’re originally published in Japan” speech and he was telling me that people leave untranslated manga behind on planes all the time (I told him he should start selling them instead of throwing them away) and was interested to see that mine was in English.  We were having a lovely conversation about manga and all the different types available when I remembered I was reading a yaoi book, which I normally wouldn’t do in public.  Good thing I had already gotten past the hand down the pants part.  Oops!  Heh.  Actually, one of the lead guys looks like a girl anyway, so while I’m not sure how much of the action he caught before I noticed he was reading over my shoulder, I don’t think I did much damage to the general reputation of manga for this guy.  Of course, I could be doing him a huge disservice by assuming he’d be shocked by a yaoi book about a student and teacher having an affair… it’s just he was a middle aged Italian man clutching a bible and I made a snap judgement.  Eh.  I shouldn’t be so quick to stereotype people. 

And for some reason, pretty much everything new at the comic store this week was a yaoi title.  I bought a random new title just because I felt I should get something with girls in it.  I wanted to go yesterday at lunch because I was travelling on Wednesday and missed the first day they arrived (sniff!) and it was lovely when I left work… but when I got out of the comic store it was POURING!  Hard, driving, big big raindrops.  Soooo, I popped into a restaurant to eat and wait out the rain, but it didn’t stop.  I waited half an hour, but it still didn’t let up.  Since I had arrived in Toronto that morning at 6am and basically ran home to shower and change and then headed back downtown to work, I had no idea it was supposed to rain yesterday and didn’t have an umbrella.  Or jacket.  Needless to say I got totally soaked, and was only halfway back to the hospital when the hail started.  Big hail, pinging down on my poor little chilled head.  Arg!  So I had to wait under a doorway until the hail stopped and was late coming back to work anyway.  Then I got to spend the rest of the afternoon in wet clothes (even after I wrung my shirt out in the bathroom) and bare feet because my sandals were squishing when I walked.  I even had to wear my fugly library sweater home because my shirt was still wet and see through at the end of the day.

Don’t worry though – my new manga didn’t get wet at all.  :P

I’m still happy to be back in Toronto, despite the wicked rain and loathed TTC.  No mosquitoes!  (Although the random guy whipping open his pants to pee in the walkway next to the bookstore today was a bit offputting.  Dude!  It’s not an alley!)

Entry filed under: manga, rambling.

Mosquitoes: 2, Cathy: 7 A bit about Ouran 12

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ama  |  July 1, 2006 at 12:09 pm

    Would you mind if I asked where you work?

    Anywho, god that hail was awful! Around 1 PM, right? My dad and I were getting lunch and he left me in the car. I had to turn the radio up really loud to hear it over the hail. The only thing I worried about was getting home relatively unsoaked, I didn’t want to change my outfit. Luckily, my dad had a second umbrella in the trunk and our food didn’t get wet. But it still rained all afternoon. Sucks to know you got hit by the hail, too. :(

    What new title did you get? =)

    Reply
  • 2. Ama  |  July 1, 2006 at 12:10 pm

    Ooh, one more thing. About the reading backwards. My mom once asked me when I was reading Naruto if I was reading it backwards. She’s the only one to ever ask. None of my friends at school would care, they’re Jewish and read Hebrew, which is also read ‘backwards’ to the Western world.

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  July 2, 2006 at 12:36 am

    Weeelllll, I don’t want to say *exactly* where I work, since I may want to get bitchy someday and not get fired for it… My real job is at a hospital research library and my fun job is at a bookstore downtown, though. A really really big one. :)

    I picked up a novel today and had it flipped the wrong way. Oi. Too much manga! It’s funny how quickly you can get used to the back to front format. I’m always slightly disoriented when I read manhwa since it feels like I’m reading it the wrong way.

    Reply
  • 4. Ama  |  July 2, 2006 at 10:06 am

    You read manwha left to right? I don’t have a lot of manwha, and what I do have, I haven’t got around to reading.

    Do you work at World’s Biggest Bookstore? o: I know that’s a really big bookstore, but I’ve only been once. =(

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  July 2, 2006 at 11:14 am

    Ha, good guess. Yeah, manwha is printed in the “regular” way originally. I don’t collect a lot of it, since I tend not to like the art and stories as much, but I’ve been buying more lately now that Net Comics is publishing more. They’ve got some interesting titles.

    Reply
  • 6. Ama  |  July 2, 2006 at 11:25 am

    Are you going to tell me if I’m right or will I be forever left to wonder? =)

    Reply
  • 7. Shino  |  July 13, 2006 at 12:49 am

    If you don’t mind my asking what’s a manwha…is it a type of manga?

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  July 13, 2006 at 7:40 am

    It’s a graphic novel/comic book that’s made in Korea, like manga is made in Japan. Most manga is made back-to-front now, so when you see one in the front-to-back format, check the author. It’s probably a Korean book.

    Reply
  • 9. jessie  |  October 11, 2006 at 7:40 pm

    wow, you’ve gat quite the interesting site…. i like it… and ya, i was wondering if all korean mangas went the “normal” american style way, so now i know.. ^-^ thanks

    oh and yes i am an anime/manga person

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  October 13, 2006 at 7:16 am

    Hi and thanks! Glad I could be a little useful to you. And it’s always good to hear from another anime/manga person. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

