Mosquitoes: 2, Cathy: 7

June 27, 2006 at 9:46 pm 6 comments

Heh heh.  I can’t believe I’ve been in White River for two days and only have two bug bites.  Of course, yesterday sitting outside I was more harassed and dive-bombed by freaky beetles, which are apparently a whole other evil I was unfamiliar with.  And my brother told me that black flies only bite inside (I’ve killed 5 so far) but I squished one earlier and the carnage was horrible – like a mini horror movie reenacted on the window.  Obviously that black fly did not know it wasn’t supposed to be biting people inside the house.

A good ninja training exercise would be snatching mosquitoes out of the air one handed.  It’s very hard, although I sometimes have a hard time with the clapping squishing method.  It’s easiest to smush them on a wall.

Why do I care so much?  Eh, I lived here for two summers when I was in college and the bug bites were terrible.  The expression “eaten alive” was quite appropriate and I’d get welts the size of my thumb with each bite.  And one morning… I woke up with one on my eye!!  Shudder.  I’ve never quite recovered from that one.  Freaking biting flying things.  And you’d go to bed at night and be almost asleep and you’d hear, “eeeeeeeeeeeeee” and you’d know if you didn’t turn the light on to try to find the mosquito you’d have even more bites by morning…

Speaking of annoying, I was reading Death Note 6 today and I think I have gotten to the point where I don’t want to buy this anymore.  Read it, sure, but I don’t want to commit to spending more money on this series.  It’s like… a ninja fight where after the first pass/strike the two ninjas will stop and one of them will say, “Aha!  That was my secret XX technique which blah blah blah” and give away their whole training history and how the thing works.  To me, the entire Death Note series is like that.  Light and L going back and forth over-explaining and over-analyzing everything.  And it’s contagious because now the other characters do it too.  It was bothering me before, but then the plot would introduce a twist that would get me to come back the next volume.  I’m going to just read it from now on no matter what the twists.  It’ll go back to annoying or boring me eventually anyway.

Hee!  My mosquito body count just went up to 8.  10 000 000 more to go… 

Entry filed under: rambling.

Remote blogging Are you reading that backwards?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. XenMaster  |  June 28, 2006 at 3:40 pm

    Yeah take that, mosquitos! Fight the good fight!!

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  June 29, 2006 at 1:45 am

    The mosquitos are not better here in Japan, i am covered with welts, also the size of my thumb. They breed like mad here in the humidty, and i have lost a few nigths sleep due the “eeeeeeeeeeee” sound! I finally found a divise that you plug into the wall, and it burns this oil that keeps the mosquitos out of the house…havent been bitten in 2 days! why the hell we dont have these things in canada i’ll never know, but hey, the japanese are very preapred for bugs: they have to be as cocroaches can be found on the streets at night, you walk along and here a crunch and know you have stepped on another one. The bugs here are wacky and plentiful.

    Reply
  • 3. Ben  |  June 29, 2006 at 2:15 pm

    I hope the bugs keep away; it’s a shame that Death Note has taken a downward line, I’ve just read 5 and it was still keeping my interest to a certain degree, but i was hoping it didn’t fall any more.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  June 29, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    Final count: six bug bites. Arg! Amy, I’m jealous of your magic mosquito repellant. Someone in Japan should start importing the stuff. I managed (after much practice) to do ONE whole one handed snatch and kill. My kung fu is not very strong, and my nails are long enough to hurt when I grabbed too hard. heh.

    Also, your bug story was gross, Amy. :)

    About Death Note… I stopped reading volume 6 half way through and haven’t gotten back to it yet. It’s not bad exactly, just exasperating. I don’t know how much of that is me – I like people to get on with things, stop rambling, etc etc. When you think about it the entire series is based around logic and thought, rather than actions and deeds. I mean, the main character kills people off by writing their names down. And then they die off panel. Where’s the excitement? It needs to be in the writing and I just don’t think Death Note is pulling it off well enough.

    Reply
  • 5. Amy  |  June 29, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    Death Note just got released as a live action film here in Japan, ill see if i can send you a copy. The posters are very interesting….very Ring and Grude like i think! I dont know how popular it is here, enough to make a full lenght live action film i guess.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  June 30, 2006 at 8:29 am

    I heard about the Death Note live action. I even watched most of a trailer for it on You Tube. I wonder if it’ll be any good?

    Found four more mosquito bites this morning. They must have gotten some more bites in while I was at the sudbury bus terminal… little demons…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

