A lonely geek moment

June 3, 2006 at 11:25 pm 5 comments

I had a huge geek out moment this afternoon when I went into the stockroom at the bookstore and saw Hot Gimmick 11!!  My inner 12 year old fangirl was unleashed, but unfortunately I had no one to share the excitement with.  The only other person working at the time who reads it did the warding off cross at me when I waved the book at her.  It's not my fault Hot Gimmick is so addictive.  sniff!

Of course I read it and may I just say holy crap?  The things that happen in this book!  And that I love Ryoki.  How can one character always make me want to slap him on one page and hug him the next?  I'm also feeling a bit sorry for Hatsumi.  She's under a lot of pressure from a lot of people right now and it doesn't help that she's wishy washy under the best of circumstances.  But she did something REALLY boneheaded.  Of course, I know how the series ends, and I might have to dig out my untranslated copy to stare at in the meantime, but when does the next volume come out?  Arg!

Shinogu needs to get more of a life, though.  There's more to it than Hatsumi. 

Miki Aihara is doing something weird with the noses that I haven't noticed before.  There's extra shading on the ends that stick up past where the nose should be.  It's very distracting, and considering I was only capable of sitting with a semi-dopey grin on my face for a few minutes after finishing that says a lot.  I hate it when a bit of art draws my attention that badly.  That was why I almost dropped Land of the Blindfolded early on in the series.  The constant goofy grins with the teeth shading were driving me nuts but fortunately the next volume was good enough that I gave myself a talking to about getting over things.  And I'm glad I kept going.  Land of the Blindfolded is amazing.

(I just went and checked my volumes 7-10 and the nose shading was being used back then, but not as much I think, and not always as noticably.  It seems to increase each book.  If I could see properly I'd comb through the earlier ones too but I'm tired of squinting.)

Forgive any oddness in this post but my glasses broke, like, five minutes ago and I'm seeing the world a bit fuzzily right now.  I don't need them for reading, but it always takes a while for my eyes to adjust after taking them off.  Guess I don't get to hole up inside tomorrow watching anime.  (Arg!  I'd need them to watch anime!!)  I should probably see if someone can glue these things back together until I can get a new pair…

Update: HG #11 (and sort of #12) spoilers are in the comments, so be wary if you get that far!

Entry filed under: manga.

May reading list Crack that spine, baby!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. akane2040  |  June 4, 2006 at 8:54 pm

    Spoiler request please, and thank you!

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  June 4, 2006 at 10:35 pm

    Oooooh, thank you!

    Brief summary: Hatsumi is over at Shinogu's to avoid Ryoki. Stuff happens that is interesting, but not what sent me into shock so I'll skip it. Then! She goes home after finding out that R has moved out of the apartment complex with his family. But! Of course he chooses to come back and is outside the very minute that H comes home with her brother and are sharing a big hug outside. You KNOW how he hates that sort of thing. Also, S is being very sweet but very relentless towards H like, let me hug you and love you forever but wait, I freaked you out so I'll back off but let me just hug you one more time first…

    Deep breath.

    Sooooo, R is now pissed, goes home and has a nervous breakdown. That annoying rich girl that his mom likes so much shows up because R told her she could be his girlfriend if she has sex with him and does everything he tells her to and of course H shows up at R's apartment just in time to see the rich girl go inside with R. Now H is in shock and reeling because R doesn't want her anymore, S really really does and Azusa and her mom are both pushing her in S' direction. What's a wimpy girl to do??

    That would be ask S to "make her his woman" as soon as she got home!! The two of them start making out in the hallway but S says they should go to his room…

    Meanwhile, R is having mental issues with the rich chick in his bed and kicks her out because she's not H. See? He's a dink but he can be taught. Slowly.

    Then we see S looking sad in the shower and H is leaving the apartment and Akane notes that "she smelled like shampoo," implying that H also had a shower.

    H goes up to the landing in the apt that R likes and of course he's there. She tells him that she slept with S because R slept with the rich chick, but then R tells her he didn't and that the only one for him is H. Big hug!!

    Arg! He still wants her! That's sort of sweet in a "this manga is really messed up" kind of way! Also, I think I skipped over that bit in the translation of the next volume because I'm wondering if H and S really slept together or if one of them chickened out and she's lying about it to get back at R. But they're both so passive I can't see them actually stopping something once they started…  (Okay, I checked and if you want to know it's in comment #3)

    Hah! I said brief summary. I lied, and I babbled, but crud this was a fun book to read! And I had no one to squeal with about it, though I did enjoy talking to you about it at the bookstore, pre-read. :)

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  June 4, 2006 at 10:41 pm

    Gah! I just went and flipped through my Japanese copy of volume 12 and there’s a flashback to what happened between Shinogu and Hatsumi. The girl totally lied to Ryoki…

    Reply
  • 4. akane2040  |  June 5, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    OMG!!! That was awesome!!! I can wait to buy my own copy now… I am finally reading the Wallflower manga I have been purchasing for over a year now…currently reading volume 5.
    BTW, I have finished reading BROTHER! Next time you are closing, let me know and I will bring it back… I liked it and plan to purchase my own copy. The debate is now should it wait for Leon and Nina to try to get it in the store or just order it on amazon.ca?
    Thanks again!
    r.

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  June 5, 2006 at 11:03 pm

    Oooo, I got FOUR from Amazon today! One is by the author of Brother and one is from the Skyscrapers of Oz creator. Haven’t read either yet, but the one I did read was really cute and wacky. It’s called Challengers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

