I’m going to stop now…

June 1, 2006 at 10:45 pm 3 comments

Since Monday was a holiday in the States, I had to wait until today to pick up my new manga.  I had too much money though and just kept grabbing books that I wanted.  I think I'm going to try to go back to being sensible at the comic store again.  :)

xxxHolic 7 was out on Tuesday so I got to buy that one earlier in the week.  It was really good, too.  I wasn't sure if they were going to top volume 6 (which is my favorite so far and hit me over the head emotionally) but volume 7 seemed to go for a darker tone.   Domeki is the target of a spider's grudge when he destroys it's web and it seals one of his eyes in revenge.  Watanuki feels responsible though, and wants to help even if it's against Domeki's wishes.  I think this is the first time where I really felt that the two boys might actually be friends underneath all of the bickering.  There was also some very interesting foreshadowing, although if you've been paying attention to Yuko all this time (and shouldn't we be?) there have been hints in the past…

I've only had a chance to read Bleach so far, but this is what I bought today:

Loveless 2
Gorgeous Carat 2
ES 1
Naruto 9-10
Platinum Garden 1 (chosen at random from the bookstore because I hadn't seen it before.  ::eyeroll::)
Bleach 13
Saiyuki Reload 4
Aoi House 1
Hissing 1
Eyeshield 21 8

And if you add in the back volumes of Saiyuki I bought to complete my collection, well… that's a lot of manga for one week.  Am I getting close to intervention time?  Nah.  It was only 16 books.  I think it feels worse than it is because I also picked up 6 volumes of Hellsing from the library today.

I also went to the store where I buy my regular comic books and one of them was Superman/Batman #26, which was originally written by Sam Loeb (Jeph Loeb's son who passed away last year) and a team of 26 writers, artists and inkers.  It was… very moving.  I loved the Robin/Superboy team up anyway and to have a whole new adventure with the two of them after Superboy died in IC was fantastic, and a fun read.  The extra story at the end, though, almost made me cry.  If I hadn't been sitting in the middle of a restaurant at the time, I probably would have. 

There's an article with more information about the book over at Newsarama.

Entry filed under: comics, manga.

Ouran 8 May reading list

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. akane2040  |  June 2, 2006 at 12:55 am

    There is actually a reason for me to be restrained at Hairy T now! Only the chief can ring in employee purchases. I had my ditzy moment before James and Nina reminded me…unless I wanted to only get a memership discount… XD Then the next day, I told the three manga I was so waiting eagerly to pay for…are ‘on my tab’. eek!!! I can’t afford a big tab… We will see how things go. EEK!!! I have to remember to buy garbage bags before going to work later today. That’s enough rambling for now – except I need to type your library research efforts concerning their manga collections deserves an A++!!! If I didn’t return books overdue I would also take of advantage of your hard work!
    ttyl
    R.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  June 2, 2006 at 7:26 am

    Putting back that dog yaoi book (and I’m blanking on the name) was the only moment of restraint I had yesterday. So sad. Be careful with the tab thing! You do eventually want to get some sort of paycheck. ;)

    Ah, the library thing. I can’t sign anything out without getting fines either. I look at it as still being cheaper than buying everything outright. You also should remember that you can renew your books online (if no one else needs them) and you’re allowed $10 in fines before they cut you off from borrowing. See? That’s less than one graphic novel! And you can do a payment plan. :P

    Reply
  • 3. Anime!  |  June 5, 2006 at 2:20 pm

    Intervention

    Time for a manga intervention?…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

