Ouran 8

May 31, 2006 at 11:55 pm 12 comments

This was one of my favorite stories in the manga, so I'm happy that this episode of the anime turned out to be so gorgeous.  It's also gone through the most changes of the episodes I've seen so far – in the original the Host Club goes to Nekozawa's private beach and stays at his mansion (with horrifying results, of course) but they've switched it to Kyoya's house for the anime which is much more mundane.  I had a very hard time not going overboard with too many screencaps for this one (I managed to stick to 25) but there were so many beautiful shots.  The colours were amazing! 

Episode 8

The Host Club moves its operation to the beach so that Haruhi can enjoy the ocean.  Things take a nasty turn as some punks show up and throw Haruhi off of a cliff during a scuffle!  Tamaki is furious with her for trying to handle too much on her own and it leads to their first real fight.  He soon discovers that her independent streak runs deep and isn't so easily overcome.

I've done caps for all through the episode, so there are spoilers, but I eased up toward the end and tried not to give everything away.  I think I concentrated on the pretty moments and not so much on the plot.  :)  And I finally took five whole minutes to figure out the pixel thing when sizing my caps so I had a lot less fiddling this time and the images are a lot smoother.  Hey, I'm slow, but I eventually care enough to learn.  :P

The screencaps!

ouran8-1.JPG 
The Host Club guys try to pick out the perfect bathing suit for Haruhi.  If you can make it out, check out the one Mori's looking at in the top right corner…  heh heh.

ouran8-2.JPG 
The twins choice!  Obviously, this is a fantasy Haruhi.

ouran8-3.JPG 
Um… There were a lot of shots of these.  The Host Club is now in Okinawa.

ouran8-4.JPG 
Romance at the beach!

ouran8-5.JPG 
Or… maybe not.

ouran8-6.JPG 
Hunny is gathering tasty shellfish for dinner.

ouran8-7.JPG 
Gratuitous shirtless pretty boys shot!

ouran8-8.JPG 
Haruhi has one of her typical non-reactions to the giant centipede crawling out of the crab.

ouran8-9.JPG 
The twins propose a contest to find out Haruhi's weakness!  Kyoya kicks in the prize. 

ouran8-10.JPG 
The whole club wants to play!

ouran8-11.JPG 
She doesn't seem to be afraid of ghosts…

ouran8-12.JPG 
She's not claustrophobic either.  Apparently Hunny is.

ouran8-13.JPG 
But wait!  Drunken punks show up to ruin everyone's good time!

ouran8-15.JPG 
Haruhi rescues the girls but is less successful at saving herself.

ouran8-16.JPG 
And she's thrown off the cliff!

ouran8-17.JPG 
Tamaki dives to the rescue!  (This was very very manly, btw.)

ouran8-19.JPG 
Awwww!  Unfortunately this peaceful moment doesn't last and Tamaki blasts Haruhi for not calling for help.  He storms off and declares he won't be talking to her again until she apologizes.

ouran8-20.JPG 
Haruhi's father repacked her suitcase so she shows up for dinner looking like a girl for once.

ouran8-21.JPG  
An awkward silence.

ouran8-22.JPG 
Haruhi eventually clues in to the fact that everyone was worried about her and they all celebrate with a group hug.

ouran8-24.JPG 
Kyoya without his glasses.  No point to this one, I just think he looks really hot here.

ouran8-25.JPG 
Haruhi's weakness is finally revealed during a thunderstorm.

ouran8-26.JPG 
But Tamaki promises she doesn't have to be afraid and alone any longer.

ouran8-27.JPG 
And since this is a comedy, the guys walk in at exactly the wrong moment…

Next time on Ouran High School Host Club: some weird private school girls show up and want to rescue Haruhi from the club!

ouran9-0.JPG

Entry filed under: anime, ouran.

Ouran 7 I’m going to stop now…

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben  |  June 3, 2006 at 8:03 am

    I love this episode.
    Also Kyoya looks best without his glasses… That seen really made me think about his character; I havent read the manga so this is all I have to go on…
    Very well screen capped considering you said you thought would be difficult ^~

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  June 3, 2006 at 10:53 am

    The hard part was stopping. :)

    All of the characters are deeper than they seem at first (well, they’d HAVE to be) but for Kyoya I think he really starts to get interesting in volume 6 of the manga. Though this episode/story was the first time I started wondering if he’d start to develop a thing for Haruhi too. Everyone else seems to, to some degree.

    Reply
  • 3. Mirai  |  June 13, 2006 at 9:46 am

    yeahh Kyoya’s intentions…I didn’t quite get. I guess he was looking out for her, but whoa, what a way to do it.

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  June 13, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    It was weird that the bedroom scene between Haruhi and Kyoya is one of my favorite bits in the story but I didn’t make any screen caps for it. I don’t know – I guess none of the scenes I captured really worked for me in terms of how much I liked it. Or it would have needed too many caps or something. :)

    On the one hand it was kind of weird to have the detached Kyoya being the one to jump Haruhi to make a point, but then on the other hand I can’t see any of the other guys being able to. And, of course, it was a pretty sexist thing to do, but talking to Haruhi about something like that can be pretty useles…

    Reply
  • 5. key-chan  |  July 28, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    I believe the bedroom scene (sounds smutty XD) was one of my favorite parts. I am coming to believe that Kyoya has some feelings for Haruhi. It’s beside the point that my OTP is KyoHaru. ^_^; Uhh.. I thought it was sexy. o_O

    Reply
  • 6. Reina  |  August 14, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    OMG.

    Kyouya is so sexy without his glasses.

    And the first time I watched this episode (I just finished re-watching the series. :3), when Kyouya went all rapist on her, I started freaking out.. XDDD

    Smexy. :D

    Reply
  • 7. Glad  |  September 12, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    I really think kyouya should get rid of those glasses.
    XD hes soo hot. Lmao. I was just like OMG when he
    was ontop of haruhi.
    ah Tamaki and Kyouya are the best XP

    Reply
  • 8. manga1234x  |  October 16, 2008 at 7:14 am

    the bedroom scene was sooo brill and that it was shoking for me but it was a really good ep..

    love all the pictures and all the caracters in it soooooooooo cute ^_^

    ^_-

    Reply
  • 9. Aquaria  |  November 20, 2008 at 6:57 am

    It’s in the little details that you know Kyoya IS interested in Haruhi.

    In the very first episode, he’s the first one aware of how Haruhi is a girl. He SAYS it’s because he’s done his research, but he cleverly didn’t say what the research was. I’d bet that it was simple observation. Haruhi might pass for a boy to the braindead like Tamaki, but she would still have enough feminine mannerisms to be obviously female to any guy who is observant and has as many brain cells as Kyoya. In the grand arc of the storyline, you have to wonder if the reason he insisted that she pay for the broken vase was really for mercenary interest ($80K is nothing to these guys, if you think about it), or was it a ruse to get closer to her? Only Kyoya knows. ;)

    In episode 8’s infamous bedroom scene, am I the only one who noticed the shot of Kyoya’s hand balling up the sheet next to Haruhi when she says he wouldn’t do anything with her? IIRC, it’s also in the manga, so Hatori clearly wanted to convey something about this action. To me, it’s a sign of sexual frustration, of a man holding back when he doesn’t really want to. I think it’s subtleties like this that make the scene so memorable, and has inspired so many twisted Haruhi-Kyoya fanfics. Let’s face it, after this scene, Kyoya becomes a very real contender for Haruhi’s affections, at least in the audience’s mind. I don’t think many readers/viewers even considered him as one until that moment.

    Later, in episode 17, Kyoya’s remarkably comfortable with Haruhi, even when he knows he’s not at his best. Haruhi has something very rare–his trust. I think he appreciates that she sees him as he is, and accepts him for it. And so he doesn’t mind when she slips past his barriers, despite how well he hides behind them. He wouldn’t let just anyone do that. Not without building new, more insurmountable/impenetrable barriers. This episode didn’t show him doing that. He seemed quietly delighted with her attention, and her perceptiveness about him.

    Then of course there’s the dance scene in the manga’s final episode end credits, where Kyoya easily steals Haruhi from Tamaki, but then gives her back. It just screams, “She’s mine, if I choose to have her. Treat her right, or I’ll prove it to you.”

    Given his quiet, secretive nature, given how it’s his mask to hide what an incredibly passionate person he is, I’d bet Kyoya’s the Ouran guy most attracted to Haruhi. He’s also the one most likely to do something about it, once he’s worked out how to succeed at it. He’s thorough, persistent AND patient enough to achieve just about anything or anyone he decides to pursue. Including Haruhi. She’s as smart as he is, but she cannot match him when it comes to sheer willpower and cunning. If he’s decided to pursue her, she might as well give up now.

    Of all the Haruhi X Ouran guy pairings possible, Haruhi and Kyoya seem to have the most to learn from one another. Not an easy combination, but ultimately the most rewarding, for both parties.

    Reply
  • 10. Adri  |  June 20, 2009 at 11:29 am

    me mueroooooooooooo que buen anime es ouran , son unos genios todos . Tamaki te amo sos genial (jajajaja como si existiera jajajajaja) Aguante el animeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!1

    Reply
  • 11. adri  |  June 20, 2009 at 11:30 am

    hey si son fanas del anime agregenme mi mail es adri_nacio_pincha@hotmail.com xoxoxo

    Reply
  • 12. กิ๊ฟ  |  April 18, 2010 at 1:56 am

    โห มีบอกทุกช็อตอย่างนี้ เยี่ยมมากเลยคะ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

