Lunchtime trauma

May 24, 2006 at 11:38 pm 1 comment

That was me today when I went to the comic store at lunch for my new manga and saw… empty shelves!  Gasp!  Yes, the shipment was late this week so I had to troll around for something else to read while I ate lunch since I am biologically incapable of eating without a book in my hand.  I ended up getting Ghost Hunt 2 since I had first passed over it when it came out and then decided to collect the series after all with volume 3.  I went back after work and was BAD!

Since I've been lazy the past few weeks and haven't posted my new manga at all, I had to really stretch to remember what I've bought lately.  Sadly, my memory really is that bad.  Anyway, my new manga for the last three weeks are:

W Juliet 10 – I think there may only be thirteen volumes in this series, so it's almost over.  That's the only reason I'm going to keep going with this one – it's kind of annoying me, but not enough to drop, if that makes sense.  This volume featured a boy from Ito's past showing up with a crush on her (again) and Makoto gets jealous (again).  They need to come up with something new for these two other than jealousy and Makoto almost gets discovered.  I know it's not every book, but it feels like it.  It also introduced a love interest for another of Ito's brothers which was kind of nice, even if I found her a bit annoying.  I was in a bad mood when I read this book, though.  That may have made a difference.  :)

Decendants of Darkness 11  – I'm still a bit confused by all of the new characters (two crow characters show up in the beginning to help Hisoka, and while I'm sure they've made an appearance before I have no memory of them), and now there's some sort of conspiracy or secret plot and a whole new thing with a magic dragon…  I think I'm going to have to go back and reread the last three (?) books to get it all straight in my head.  Or better yet, wait until the next book comes out and do it then.  I think part of the problem is that I'm still not enjoying the new storyline as much so I'm reading it too quickly for everything to sink in properly.  We did get to see more of Tatsumi and Watari investigating Hiroka's family though, which was a nice change of pace.  This series only has another volume or two to go as well, but I'm not as happy about this one ending.  Until the last few books, I've really liked Decendents of Darkness.

Me and Harujion
Little Butterfly 1
Gals! 6
Fullmetal Alchemist 7
Nana 2 – I'm glad I bought this!  I didn't fall in love with the first volume and was kind of wondering why it's so popular.  I'm not sure why I liked the second book more… perhaps because it focused more on the developing friendship between the two Nanas more than their men issues.
Not So Bad 1 – my comic store friend recommended this to me.  She described it as Tramps Like Us, but with two men and it's Korean.  Yep, that about sums it up!  A moody actor comes across a young homeless man and invites him to stay at his place despite being a cold loner.  The boy slowly warms the actor up but may be more of a stray than he seems and jealousy begins to affect their budding relationship.  (And I would be clearer if I could actually find the book.  It's disappeared for the moment)  I initially passed on this book because I found the cover art creepy, which oddly enough is why I didn't pick up Tramps Like Us at first as well.  I still don't like the Not So Bad cover, though.

Brother
Lies and Kisses 
I ordered these two off of Amazon since DramaQueen books are kind of underrepresented at the comic store (I think?  I don't remember seeing any) and I was wondering what they were like.  I chose these two almost at random and ended up with a pair of books with a…. theme.  That would be an incest theme, darnit!  I knew about Brothers (obviously you can tell from the title) but they're STEP-brothers, so that's okay…. Lies and Kisses, though.  Nope.  Not step-brothers at all.  Both were pretty good, and Brother was more explicit than the other.  It actually has full-frontal male nudity, with no body blocking, suggestive shading, artfully arranged clothing, etc etc.  The bookstore friend I lend yaoi books to (who writes slash fanfiction) called me naughty when she returned them.  But I didn't know when I bought them!  Mental note: pay more attention to book blurbs…  :)

Ghost Hunt 2
Scott Pilgrim 3 – this one wasn't quite as good as the first two, I thought.  It was a little harder to track the story (there were a *lot* of flashbacks).  That said, it was still fabulous!  I had to stop reading it on the way home because I burst out laughing on the bus and got stared at.  I hate it when that happens.  Scott must fight another one of Ramona's evil ex-boyfriends, who has special vegan psychic powers!  oooooh!  Also, there's a lot of ex-boyfriend/girlfriend angst, but in a good way.
Kamichama Karin 4
Tramps Like Us 9 – the penultimate volume!  (I know what penultimate means now due to Harry Potter overexposure)  I take it back!  There are 14 volumes listed on the Tokyopop website.  That's what I get for only trusting one source.  That means there are five more to go!
Cromartie High School 6
Boogiepop Returns: VS Imaginator Part 1 (2nd novel)
GTO: The Early Years 1  – yes, really.  I had no idea this was coming out.  I haven't cracked this one open yet, but it's BIG.  Like, twice the size of a normal manga big.  Also more expensive than a normal manga, grumble grumble.

And as a special good night treat, here's a video for the opening theme song to the second season of Ah! My Goddess.  It's a pretty pretty song and I've been listening to it non-stop.  I haven't seen any of the episodes yet, but it's nice to see more of the series characters in the credits.

Entry filed under: manga.

Manga at the Toronto Public Library – Part 1

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Hikaru  |  June 23, 2006 at 5:43 pm

    Thank goodness x_x’ I had this fully loaded but then I had to go…so glad it’s still fully loaded so I can watch it…yay! ^^ It’s very awesome! Love the bagpipes, lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

