Random Furuba #19 images

May 19, 2006 at 11:34 pm 16 comments

I was browsing the Kikiwai website last night and saw that volume 19 of Fruits Basket had arrived in the store.  As soon as I could I ran over there today to pick it up and it was great to flip through it, even if I couldn't understand a thing.  Of course, the volume to watch out for in terms of amazing developments and revelations is volume 17.  I'll be good and not say anything spoilerish (unless you really really want me to!) but here are a few little scans I made from both books.  They didn't have volume 18 in stock, otherwise I'd try to include a few more. 

By the way, a new cosplay type store opened up across the way from Kikiwai.  I think it's part of the same store (same staff and some merch I'd seen in the main store) and I only poked my head in a little way, but it looks pretty neat.  They have a gorgeous lolita goth type dress in the window that looked like it fell out of the pages of a manga.

I think these are fairly generic images (though the ones of Momiji are borderline spoilery I guess).  Don't scroll down if you don't want to see!  :)  I couldn't bring myself to do anything too revealing…  My Kyo bias is definitely showing in these though, and I wanted to include an Ayame scan, but I couldn't get a good one that wasn't covered with text bubbles.  The boy does love to talk…

Update: I was asked for big spoilers so rushed to comply.  :)  I put a page break in, but it may not show up depending on when/how you're viewing this.  If you don't want to see the major spoilers, stop scrolling when you get to the Momiji pictures!

fb006.jpg   fb.jpg  
(The picture of Tohru and the cat is from a side page.  I don't think Kyo actually changed)

fb 004.jpg   fb 005.jpg
(No, Kyo isn't giving the flower to Momiji…)

fb 001.jpg fb 002.jpg

I tried using the colour option to scan these instead of the usual greyscale.  They're a little wavy and yellow, but the best I could manage tonight since I was feeling too lazy to rescan everything.  (I now remember why I use greyscale.)  I have no fancy programs for image manipulation and clean up, I only have Paint.  :)

These images are all from volume 17.

Spoiler #1
fb006.JPG 
Look, it's Kureno and Akito!


fb007.jpg 
Kissing! Arg, I thought. They're gay!

fb008.jpg 
Look, now it's Shigure and Akito!

fb009.jpg 
Now THEY'RE kissing! And, um. More than kissing.

fb010.jpg 
If you look carefully, you can see that Kureno and Shigure aren't gay after all. WTF???

This blew me away when I found out. Akito is a woman?? And Shigure is in love with her? No wonder she's so crazy! I remember one of the earlier volumes had little Shigure pining over a girl, but I never in a million years would have guessed who it was. 

Spoiler #2

fb011.jpg
This is Kureno hugging Tohru…

fb012.jpg 
See what's NOT happening??? 

There's hope! This is magical event is also what has driven Akito even farther over the edge. The reveals and panels in the manga don't always happen in the order I put the scans in, though.  Going back and rereading the earlier volumes is interesting if you keep these two facts in mind.

I can't believe there's only three or four more volumes left. Well, in Japan. We have ten. I'm going to be reading freaking Fruits Basket until I'm forty.

Entry filed under: manga.

Free Scott Pilgrim!

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. akane2040  |  May 20, 2006 at 2:24 pm

    Please spoil it for me!!!!
    >.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  May 21, 2006 at 12:35 am

    Done!

    Reply
  • 3. akane2040  |  May 21, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!! The spoilers were greatly appreciated!!!!!!! Please keep me posted on the Kyo and Tohru front!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  May 22, 2006 at 11:36 pm

    Was it really new for you? When I first found out I was trying to not to say anything about it to a fellow FB addict friend, then found out she knew ages ago! I felt like it was something I should have already known. :)

    I’m trying to decide if I want to geek out and get the jp volume 18 tomorrow from Chinatown. Do I *really* need it? Plus, I never get just one thing when I go there. Last Friday I went for FB #19 and ended up getting #17 and this hollow plastic Mokona with a Tsubasa figurine inside. Like I needed that… heh heh. I want the rest of the figurines now, but how many Mokonas do I want hanging around? I don’t even *like* Mokona!

    Reply
  • 5. akane2040  |  May 23, 2006 at 1:16 am

    Yes it was! I don’t really go snooping for spoilers. Occassionally I will lucky enough to know someone who has the inside scoop though…

    I also understand your dilemma about going to kikiwai! Since Leon had not told when my starting date is I need to conserve funds so any trips to KiKiWai for me right now is a big no no!! So in opinion, I would wait another month or so before going to kikiwai again – you never know, you might actually see something at anime north too! But I do like Mokona! I still sort of want the plushie… Or put those items on your bday/xmas wish list?

    See you later today.
    R.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  May 23, 2006 at 1:22 am

    I never get to put stuff like that on my bday lists… my friends all know that I have poor impulse control and buy stuff right away. They’re all afraid to get me that kind of thing. :)

    Hairy T was actually open today after the bookstore closed, and I had read my new FMA so I popped in. Of course, with no clear idea of what to get I did a lot of wandering around. Ended up getting Nana #2, even though I don’t think I actually own the first one. Hmm. Actually I think I have most of vol one in Shojo Beat issues. Those mess up my collection!

    I think I might actually still be going to Anime North. I haven’t heard anything different from the group that’s going, but I haven’t gotten confirmation, either. :( We’ll see.

    See ya!

    Reply
  • 7. Bucky  |  May 27, 2006 at 10:15 am

    Dude! Those spoilers were awesome!!!! Buck

    Reply
  • 8. pajcat  |  May 28, 2006 at 12:02 pm

    Ha! Glad you liked them. I was very very surprised when I found out about Akito. I think the anime still affects how I read the manga and I never really got the impression from the show that she could be a woman. Maybe it was the voice? Also the constantly drooping kimono… :)

    Reply
  • 9. harusgirl07  |  June 6, 2006 at 5:29 pm

    dude…AKITO IS A WOMAN?!?!?!!? thats news…

    Reply
  • 10. pajcat  |  June 6, 2006 at 10:04 pm

    I KNOW!! My jaw totally dropped. :)

    Reply
  • 11. Momo-san  |  June 7, 2006 at 6:57 pm

    How can Akito be a girl?!
    That shocked me so bad…did Tohru really break the curse?
    YAY!!! :D

    Reply
  • 12. pajcat  |  June 7, 2006 at 8:15 pm

    Ah, no it wasn’t Tohru. Apparently Kureno did something on his own that broke the curse, but I don’t think they explained exactly how yet. I don’t think anyone else knows about it and that’s why Akito keeps him away from the other Sohmas. Tohru’s starting to think about it more and more though because she wants to save Kyo before his family sticks him isolation for the rest of his life.

    The images that are above are from when Tohru was meeting Kureno about something else. She noticed that there were a lot of birds around that weren’t flocking to him (since he’s the rooster and the Sohma’s have that animal attraction thing going on) and that’s how she started to clue in.

    I’d never liked Akito before, but after finding out why he/she’s so warped I had a lot more sympathy.

    Reply
  • 13. L0KI  |  October 28, 2006 at 7:53 pm

    aww… so cute kyo and toru, aren’t they?
    we’re waiting for volume 12 in germany… thus made me quite happy to read a little further this way…
    thanks!!

    Reply
  • 14. pajcat  |  October 29, 2006 at 12:59 am

    Oooh, isn’t waiting for Fruits Basket hard? The manga isn’t coming out as fast here anymore so the wait between volumes is getting to be waayyy too long!

    Reply
  • 15. Tian-Chan  |  December 29, 2006 at 12:50 pm

    OMG!!!!! Momiji is all grow up!! he look so cool but he still cute as ever!!! Akito is a girl!! XD oh woow! never expect that and Kureno hugging Tohru make me faint!! XD OMG!! i can’t wait to see read it! Right now we only have vol.15, it gonna to be long until vol.19 come out….;_;

    Reply
  • 16. pajcat  |  December 29, 2006 at 1:04 pm

    At the schedule Tokyopop is currently going at?? It’s going to take a couple of years, darnit! Which is annoying since I can go to Chinatown and pick up an untranslated copy of the last volume… what’s taking them so long??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

