My week in manga

May 6, 2006 at 1:34 am 4 comments

This whole recapping my week in manga while waiting for Ouran to download seems to be my new Friday night tradition…  I would like to point out that I did actually go out tonight and didn't just stay home huddled over my manga.  Now I'm going to be up for a while waiting for episode five and I'm supposed to be at work for 8:30 tomorrow morning.  The sacrifices I make…

I got a mix of new titles and some back issues this week.  I also got a newsletter from Go! Comi saying that Crossroad and Tenshi Ja Nai! weren't being released until mid-May, which explains why I haven't been able to buy them yet.  :)  That also includes Cantarella if you're into that one.

So, my new manga for the week are:

Cantarella 1 – just bought it today, so haven't had a chance to read it yet.

Fullmetal Alchemist 6 – I read this one instead!  More about the Elric brothers and their introduction to alchemy, their teacher and the failed experiment that destroyed their bodies.  I'm now past what I've seen of the anime, so it's getting interesting again…

Crimson Hero 2 – Nobara and her team are challenged by the boys' volleyball team and the fate of the girls team is at stake.

Beauty is the Beast 3 – I honestly have no idea where this manga is going, but it's great anyway.  Is it a romance?  A dorm manga for girls?  This volume introduces a boy named Shimonuki who falls for Eimi, though she remains oblivious.  Is this a love triangle?  Love rectangle?  (It seems Wanibuchi has a girlfriend…)  I can't quite figure out what's up with Eimi.  Does she love Wanibuchi as a guy or as a creature to admire?  When Shimonuki starts admiring Wanibuchi too, what the heck does *that* do to the love-triangle-whatever shaped thingie??  

The Kindaichi Case Files 13 : House of Wax – Once again, Kindaichi and Miyuki are invited to a remote location and once again, there's a murder, their way out is destroyed and they must solve the mystery before half the characters die.  (You'd think they would have learned by now not to go to these in-the-middle-of-nowhere places!)  In this volume, they're trapped in a German castle rebuilt in Japan and fully equipped with creepy wax figures (hence the title), a dungeon full of torture devices and a locked drawbridge trapping them inside.  Cheese alert: I found this really funny and distracting while reading.  Their mysterious host is called "Mr. Redrum."  :snicker:  I was having Shining flashbacks until someone finally clued in, pages and pages later about the name.  (Running around yelling Redrum! Redrum! was popular for a while when I was a kid.)  I can't figure out if it was in the original or if they changed the reference for the English version.  Tokyopop lacks the cultural notes most of the other publishers stick at the end.

Ouran High School Host Club 6 – Yay!  Another entertaining volume, but with less hilarity than some of the other ones.  School festival time arrives at Ouran and the Host Club finds themselves in fierce competition with the football club for prime festival real estate.  Throw in some mysterious threatening letters, a childhood rivalry and some really awful family members and you have an idea of what the rest of the book is like.  Tamaki's father and grandmother both make an appearance and more of his past is revealed.  The best part of the book, though, is the time spent on Kyoya.  I could tell from looking at the Japanese version that his family isn't quite the loving group of people you might hope for, but it takes the English translation to fully understand how much of an ass his father really is.  There was so much insight into his character, and at the same time, I was truly left wondering what his real motivations and feelings towards the Host Club are.  Is he as evil as everyone says?  Secretly benevolent?  Either way, he's definitely a master manipulator! 

I bought one more that I won't mention yet since it's getting pretty late, and Ouran just finished downloading.  I still have manga from last week that I haven't read yet either.  Such a hard life!  Actually, I'm going to check the bookstore for Earthian 3 tomorrow since it came out this week as well.  I'm going to buy this series eventually, but I'm happy just reading it for now. 

I also finally bought Whisper of the Heart today, which is coming to the bookstore with me tomorrow.  Our anime tv will be airing it all day…

Finally, some random, gratuitous Ouran love:

Entry filed under: manga, ouran.

Ouran #4 ready to go! New Wizard of Earthsea trailer

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hikaru  |  June 7, 2006 at 5:30 pm

    Is this just the opening theme? Hehe…seen it many times. XP Cool for posting it on your site though…I was just listening to the full version on my tape…hehe, it’s pretty hot XD Now I’m listening to the Ultra Maniac opening…hm…o_O Hey, how do you put youtube videos on your site? Do you have to be a member of the site?

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  June 7, 2006 at 8:10 pm

    WordPress has a tag you can use for embedding You Tube videos on your site. I think I can do Google videos too, but I haven't tried that yet.

    I really liked the closing music for Ultra Maniac. I bought a soundtrack for it just for that song.

    Ah, I forgot a link earlier.  This is one of my favorite songs right now.  It's the opening theme for Ah! My Goddess season 2.

    https://pajcat.wordpress.com/2006/05/24/lunchtime-trauma/

    Reply
  • 3. Hikaru  |  June 23, 2006 at 4:31 pm

    Okay…might as well try that too…I love the closing for Ultra Maniac, too. ^^ Actually…the opening and closing are really great…lol.

    Reply
  • 4. Hikaru  |  June 23, 2006 at 5:49 pm

    Okay just saw it…it took forever and I almost got caught but I can see why you like it. ^^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

