April reading list

May 2, 2006 at 2:47 am 6 comments

I've gone and updated my Not Yet Released page.  (All my author links are gone for now – it made the updating so much easier.)  It looks like it thins out around August, so I think I'll wait until mid-summer before checking on the autumn/winter releases again.  As soon as I get through last week's Entertainment Weekly I'll also be slotting in my summer movie wishlist.  Ah, May… the month when all of the lovely explosion-centered movies begin…

April Reading List

Manga/Graphic Novels:

Rebound 2
Initial D 1-2
Zatch Bell 5
La Esperanca 2
Her Majesty's Dog 1
Antique Bakery 3
Midori Days 5
Oh My Goddess 22
Gatcha Gacha 1 (reread)
Full Moon 5
Cafe Kichijouji de 2
MeruPuri 4
Ghost Hunt 3
Tokyo Boys and Girls 4
Almost Crying
Aishiteruze Baby 1
Ultra Cute 2
Kagetora 1
Rozen Maiden 1
Death Note 5
Whistle!  11
Let Dai 1-2
Boy Princess 1-2
Menkui! 1
Genshiken 4-5
Kamichama Karin 1-2 (reread), 3
Baby & Me 1 (reread)
Pichi Pichi Pitch 1
Hana Kimi 11
Hands Off! 6
The Art of Loving 1
Priceless 1
Chocolat 2

Books

Doomsday Book – Connie Willis (reread) – time travel + plagues
Bellwether – Connie Willis (reread) – good for both sci fi fans and people who have been stuck in an all staff meeting.  Also features the inter-office assistant from Hell.
To Say Nothing of the Dog – Connie Willis (reread) – wacky time travel! Actually, you have to stay sharp reading this one.  It goes into more about paradoxes, etc than Doomsday Book does.
Uncharted Territory – Connie Willis (reread) – two surveyors on an alien planet travel around with a native and a visiting scientist.  Very short, but amusing. 
Lincoln's Dreams – Connie Willis (reread) – one of her earlier books, and one that I find the most confusing.  It's actually about a young woman who's having General Lee's dreams.  But why?  That's the mystery.

This was definitely a Connie Willis month.  Her books are great, but one thing you need to be willing to accept while reading is having a constant barrage of facts thrown at you.  History, science, random trivia… Uncharted Territory had alien mating customs so she was even making stuff up to throw in to that one!

Don't Look Down – Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer – from the commentary and descriptions I read I was expecting a higher body count from this book.  ;) It was a lot of fun though – classic Jennifer Crusie (lady movie director with a wacky, needy family) with a bit of military (sharpshooters, helicopters, soldiers, the CIA) thrown in.  To add to the whole manga age rating angst I seemed to fall into this month, this book had a five year old getting into Wonder Woman.  They gave her Kingdom Come to read.  Age appropriate or not?  I'm not going to worry about it anymore! :) 

All Night Long – Jayne Ann Krentz – a very surprising read!  It felt like I was reading an early Nora Roberts book, and she only used the word "alchemist" once! 

Dates from Hell – Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands, Kelley Armstrong and Lori Handeland – this one was kind of a disappointment.  The only story I really enjoyed was the Kelley Armstrong one about a bounty hunter and a jewel thief werewolf.  Although the last story in the book was pretty amusing – the demon hunter had this librarian fetish thing happening that kept making me laugh…

The Thief – Megan Whalen Turner – Gen is a young thief rescued from prison by the King's Magus.  He sets off with the Magus and a group of companions to steal a legendary stone that will give the King control over the neighbouring queen and country.   

The Queen of Atollia – Megan Whalen Turner – more of Gen the thief, and a war that's brewing between three countries.

His Majesty's Dragon – Naomi Novik – a British Navy captain captures a French ship and discovers a rare unhatched dragon egg aboard.  Laurence must leave the Navy to join the aerial unit of the army, bonding with his new dragon Temeraire and learning to fight together.  heh.  A bad description, but a fabulous book.  It's actually getting raves from a lot of places which is pretty unusual for a fantasy novel.  It's usually described as Patrick O'Brien crossed with Anne McCaffrey.

Throne of Jade – Naomi Novik – the Chinese government objects to the dragon intended for the Emperor Napoleon now being in the hands of a nameless army captain.  Laurence and Temeraire must travel to China together to find a way to stay together in the face of opposition from two governments.  Laurence also must come to terms with Temeraire's growing maturity and dissatisfaction with his treatment at the hands of the British military.

Broken – Kelley Armstrong – Elena and the werewolf pack return, and this time Elena's pregnant!  To distract herself from worrying about the pregnancy, she and Clay take on a commission to recover a letter stolen from Jack the Ripper's police file years before.  Unfortunately in the process they set off a chain of events that involve zombies in Toronto and yes, more disease.  Like SARS wasn't bad enough…

My favorite books for the month were the Naomi Novik and Megan Whalen Turner books.  Not that you can tell from my stunted little reviews…  :) 

Movies

Slither
Red Eye
Chronicles of Narnia: the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe (again) (also at work, which means 25+ times…watching it off and on… over and over…)

Wow!  What a sucky movie month.  (Sucky in that I only watched two movies.  How does that even happen?  Slither was actually very fun and made me exclaim, "Oh!" in the theatre.  I had shame.)  I also tried watching Shark Boy and Lava Girl and gave up shortly into it.  I even had to pay overdue fines at the library for that one, darn it!  I guess I watched more anime (Ouran Host Club, Tenjou Tenge, others that shall not be named) and tv (like the new Doctor Who) than anything else.

Sort of on topic: there's a second season of the Tsubasa anime!  The first episode is now available and it doesn't look like anything I've seen in the manga so far.  If they start moving away from the manga plot that would be lovely…

Entry filed under: manga.

Fun toys and less fun blog maintenance Can you rock out to Jpop?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. akane2040  |  May 4, 2006 at 9:28 am

    How are enjoying rebound? In between volumes I did a little research on the net and found out in total there are twenty nine volumes of harlem beat… But the first 9 volumes of harlem beat plus the 18 Toyko Pop plans to publish under ‘rebound’ only add up to 27…
    =(
    I am on sending an email of inquiry if after volume 18 of rebound Tokyo Pop does not mention their intentions to publish ‘the missing volumes’…

    And keep us posted about the Tsubasa anime! I stopped watching it…mutter, mutter…I have to play catch-up before watching the second season. And I was going to ask what do you think of Xxxholic?
    toodles,
    r.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  May 4, 2006 at 11:59 am

    You should try the message boards over at Tokyopop. There’s an editor board where they take those kinds of questions, and they’re usually pretty good at answering them. I think I’d like Rebound more if I weren’t jumping in so far into the series. All of the character relationships are established, mad skillz have been learned, etc. I definitely wouldn’t buy it… the problem would be finding somewhere to read the earlier volumes. Wow. I don’t even remember if the bookstore has them. I know the library doesn’t. Hmm. I wonder if they know they’re missing the first part of the story… I usually like sports manga, so I could see me reading this. You seem to be a fan, though. :)

    If you’re keeping up on the Tsubasa manga, you could probably just jump into season two. The first season didn’t deviate from the manga at all, and it ended when they left Oto (did I get that right? Don’t have my manga with me right now…). I have the first four eps of xxxHolic, but haven’t watched them yet. The movie was great, though. I’ve read complaints on some message boards about how the anime doesn’t follow the manga, but I think that’s a bonus. As long as you leave the major plot points in place, who cares? If the manga and anime are too similar I get bored too quickly. (Although season one of Tsubasa was one of my few exceptions to that)

    All of my tv shows are coming up to their finales so I’m going to suddenly have an extra five hours a week. Might as well fill them with anime!

    cathy

    Reply
  • 3. akane2040  |  May 6, 2006 at 10:03 pm

    starting off in the middle of the series is sometimes weird but i did that myself for harlem beat/rebound and j.d. robb’s in death series… read the six volumes available at the time of rebound and went back read the nine volumes of harlem beat… i might be able to rustle a copy of the first volume of harlem beat to loan you… let me know if you are interested… and hooray for star wars… i am so buying the box set when it is released!!! woo hoo!!!

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  May 6, 2006 at 10:51 pm

    I decided for some reason that I didn’t need to read One Piece in order. I just put a bunch of them on hold at the library and read them as they came in. I’d be confused and then things would make sense a month later… I also read the first five or six Stephanie Plum/Janet Evanovich books like that.

    I wrote the Star Wars news on our dvd release white board at work today… there was much anger and bitterness from the people who have now already bought the dvds twice. I’m happy I was so adamant about not buying the “improved” versions. Patience definitely paid off!

    Ooooh! Manga trade? I can lend you something in return, maybe? You can email me, if you’d like…

    Reply
  • 5. akane2040  |  May 10, 2006 at 9:41 am

    i’m sending you my schedule today… hopefully we can co-ordinate a trading day? sorry to hear about the dvd thief!!!! i am confident you guys will catch him next time… or could you ban him from the store for suspicious behaviour? have a great week!
    r.

    Reply
  • 6. pajcat  |  May 10, 2006 at 12:45 pm

    Awesome! I’ll check it out. Arg, dvd thieves. We have so many… some get banned, but if we don’t catch on to what they’re doing while they’re there, we can’t do much more than try to keep an eye open for them again so we know for sure who it is next time. I’ve learned not to take it too personally, though I resent the erosion of my faith in humanity. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

