I think I went a bit overboard

April 26, 2006 at 11:27 pm 4 comments

There were… more impulse control problems today.  I went to the comic store at lunch expecting only Crossroad and Tenshi Ja Nai to be in.  They shipped late, but (un)fortunately a bunch of Viz and Tokyopop titles came instead, and some new manhwa.  Then after work I went to my other store to pick up my comics.  I asked if they'd read or liked the Young Avengers and just crumbled before their high pressure sales tactics when they said, "I have the first trade right here."  Damn!  I've bought more manga than this in a week before, but since I've been so stingy lately I think I'm just suffering from a heady guilt/pleasure rush.  Me going to the con next weekend is not looking good right now.

Anyway, here are my new additions:

Il gatto sul G 1 (finally!)
Rozen Maiden 1
Death Note 5
Whistle! 11
Let Dai 2
Boy Princess 2
Dazzle 2
Prince of Tennis 13
Crimson Hero 2 (I was waiting in line looking around and this jumped out at me as one of my missed titles)
Menkui! 1 (which I decided to buy on my way out of the store because it looked cute and apparently nine graphic novels just weren't enough)

I'm going to go read now.  I'm still making my way through my new stuff from last week, though I did read Genshiken 5 today.  It was amusing as always.  The club guys will be starting to graduate soon.  sniff!  I was also reading Kamichama Karin on the subway this morning (more about this title later) and an older gentleman sitting near me said, "It's so nice to see someone smiling on the subway for once!  You must really be enjoying your book."  Why yes, yes I was.  Had he been on my bus earlier he would have been witness to one of my patented giggle-cough-snort-cough-cough-stare-intently-out-the-window-trying-not-to-laugh moments. 

Any other morning and I probably would have been as surly as everyone else, though.  Witness the awesome power of manga!  It can not only make *you* happy, but everyone around you as well.

Entry filed under: manga.

Demonstrating poor impulse control Supernatural – the end is in sight

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. akane2040  |  April 27, 2006 at 1:47 am

    Question: Are you going to anime north? Or just comicon?

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  April 27, 2006 at 7:06 am

    Comicon, I think. I always get confused when I try to think of where Anime North is held, but I have a friend who goes and she always gets the cutest stuff… I think if I decide I'm too broke to do a lot of shopping I might go to the comicon anyway. It's $18 for the Sunday (since I get to work all day Saturday of course) and if nothing else the anime schedule looks pretty good. When I was in Hairy T I was looking at the anime they were showing and there's a bunch of stuff I haven't seen yet or was interested in, which usually doesn't happen with me and con showings.

    They gave me a free admission ticket for Saturday, I think, for the women in comics thing…um… I don't know. I didn't really look at it that closely since I knew I couldn't go. :(

    Reply
  • 3. akane2040  |  April 29, 2006 at 1:21 am

    I am going to Anime North! I have a hotel, and I have also pre-registered for the weekend. I can’t afford to go to both…but maybe I will go to comicon next year to compare… I’m working saturday too but sunday and monday I have freedom! Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  April 29, 2006 at 3:08 am

    Wow! Sounds like you get serious when you go to a convention! I don’t even know when Anime North is, but if my friend goes as usual I might tag along for a day depending on which day she goes. Last year she got me the cutest little Inu-Yasha tote. I’m not into IY as much any more, but Sesshoumaru is always pretty…
    You have a fun weekend, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2006
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

