New manga and convention angst

April 22, 2006 at 3:10 am 5 comments

Episode three of the anime that shall no longer be named (for a while, anyway) is now available for download.  Haruhi is going for the school's physical exam while the boys plot crazy schemes to keep her gender a secret.  I admit to getting the unsubbed version earlier in the week to watch.  Heck, it's not like I can't tell what's happening – I've read the graphic novels over and over and over…

Ahem.

This week's new manga:

Kagetora 1
Hana-Kimi 11
Let Dai 1
Hands Off! 6
Boy Princess 1
The Art of Loving 1
Baby and Me 1
Kamichama Karin 3
Sengoku Nights 2
Chocolat 2

Notice I'm starting to pick up my back issues.  Ahhhh!  There was a LOT of manhwa out this week, which I tend to not buy very often.  I ended up getting a few (Let Dai, Chocolat and Boy Princess) and there were actually a few others that I saw ads for that looked interesting…

I had planned on going to the Toronto Comicon this Sunday, but apparently there's two of them with the same name.  The one this weekend is at the Metro Convention Center (and the one I have the free pass for) and the one next weekend is at Exhibition Place (the one I wanted to go to).  Confusing much?  The word is it's on purpose.  Bad form! 

Anyway, I think I've swung back to picking up missed volumes a few at a time rather than going totally insane all at once.  Between the discount I get at the bookstore, and the one my comic store gives, it's not like I'd save any more $$ by going to a con.  Also, the new Scott Pilgrim was going to be there, and now it's not… but there will be other goodies… Arg! I guess I'll see how much money I have next weekend and decide then. lol.

More on the new manga later.  I swear this time!  I've got Monday and Tuesday off next week and absolutely nothing other than a dinner planned… Well, I'm overhauling my manga shelves which are now completely out of control, but that's it.  I'm relaxing this weekend! 

And attempting to get a whole night's sleep without waking up, darnit!  It's 4 am right now – I woke up two hours ago and if this whole sleeplessness sticks to it's usual pattern I'm guessing I'll be up until 6 now.  Thankfully I don't have to be at the bookstore until 1, unlike me trying to drag myself to the library for 9 (ish) all week… 

Entry filed under: manga, Random Stuff.

Immanent Fruits Basket withdrawal Saturday night rambling

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. akane2040  |  April 27, 2006 at 1:19 am

    Ahh!!! Hands Off 6; Tsubasa 9; Tenshi Ja Nai 3!!! Woman, you are killing me… I haven’t been over to Hairy T in a week or so now… My store is closing down and I am working semi-crazy hours… (this week it’s 48hrs) Thx for keeping me in the loop!!! I really enjoy reading your blog…it’s my new favourite!

    Take care,
    Roxanne.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  April 27, 2006 at 6:57 am

    Oooo! You have to go to a bookstore for Tsubasa – Hairy T won't be getting it in for a week or so. And no Tenshi Ja Nai yet, which is sad… 48 hours? That's pretty busy. More manga for you?? Sorry to hear about your store, though.  I used to go there to buy all my books when I first moved to TO.

    cathy

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  April 27, 2006 at 7:12 am

    And Hands Off 6 completely blew me away! I can’t believe Tokyopop is saying this is a comedy. The angst!! The revenge! The mental breakdowns! I’m not crazy about some of the art, but this is one of my favorite books. But thank goodness poor Kotarou stopped getting kidnapped! lol. And thanks for the kind words! I’ve been posting reeeaaalllly late at night (early in the morning?) lately and my brain tends to go weird after a certain point…

    Reply
  • 4. akane2040  |  April 29, 2006 at 1:32 am

    I was sort of hoping to get transferred and would be more than willing to work only one to two shifts a week…but if I don’t transferred it will not be the end of the world! Just my 30% discount… = (
    On the bright side it will force me to be more selective when I decide to buy books… I haven’t the willpower to develop a more selective screening process for my manga purchases yet…
    And wouldn’t you know it! I went to Hairy T and got something completely different than what I intended: Prince of Tennis v 13, MeriPuri v 4 and two yaoi graphic novels -Art of Loving and il gatto sul… I will have to wait for payday before going back… thx for the review of hands off! I might drop by wbb for tsubasa…hopefully there are some copies on the shelves…
    Take care,
    r.

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  April 29, 2006 at 3:05 am

    I would defnintely miss the discount. I think I'd go back to mostly buying used books, which is so hit or miss…
    Good choices on the manga though! I admire your self-restraint, but have fun on payday! :) There are A LOT of copies of Tsubasa left. Today I went in and ended up getting two Fullmetal Alchemists and felt so guilty…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2006
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

