Bits and pieces

March 28, 2006 at 8:20 pm 3 comments

There won't be much point to this – just random bits I feel like mentioning that don't really rate a whole post of their own.  Of course, I could just post something that's not half a page long, but what are the odds.  Sooo….

I'm still reading The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle.  I'm just past the half way mark and holy crow it's taking me a while.  I'm enjoying the book, but also wondering what the heck the plot is going to turn out to be.  It meanders all over the place!

I found out last week that I'd be getting to go work at Ad Astra after thinking I'd missed my chance.  Yay!  I have no idea what it'll be like, but I've always been curious about it, but was too cheap to go.  Now I can go scope it out and get PAID for it!  Of course my weekend is now Friday night at Ad Astra, all Saturday at the bookstore, all Sunday at Ad Astra.  Yet another reason I rebelled on Sunday and didn't go into work at the library.  I knew I'd be working both days this coming weekend.  I also found out through keen observation (ie looking at the Ad Astra display in our store window) that Kelley Armstrong will be there.  Neat. 

I was debating whether or not I should go to the Toronto Comicon coming up at the end of April.  I was on the "no" side of the fence, but when I went to 1 000 000 Comix last week I got a free entry pass for the Sunday.  Sweet!  And according to Bryan Lee O'Malley's live journal, the new Scott Pilgrim book might be making it's first appearance there.  Hopefully there are some left on Sunday.  I'll also be in the wonderful position to catch up on my missed manga at the end of April, so I guess it'll be a good opportunity to troll for manga deals.

Speaking of manga, last week I bought:

Read Or Die #1, Our Kingdom #2, Shout Out Loud #1, Sweet Revolution #1, Kare Kano #19 and, of course, the first Only the Ring Finger Knows novel.  I'll talk about my new manga later.  For some reason I was really resisting blogging about my new Yaoi stuff because it seemed like that was all I did… but after looking over the last month's posts, I guess I don't after all.  I must just talk about it a lot at the store with friends and to bug the guys I work with.  huh.  I also bought the first Loveless dvd, because it was cheap and I suck at keeping to budgets.

I popped into Wal-Mart on the way home to pick up King Kong.  I figure I'll be watching it ten billion times at work starting tomorrow night so I might as well get one lovely uninterrupted viewing in before I get sick of it.  Plus, it was on sale for $19.99.  Today also marks the release of Planet of the Apes: the Ultimate Edition, which includes all the movies, both tv series and a giant ape bust.  Seriously, it's huge.  I was looking at the box at work last Saturday and it's pretty amazing.  I can't see the appeal of a big ape glowering at you while you're trying to relax, but all the guys agreed that it'd be awesome on top of a tv. 

Speaking of work, on Saturday I got an "I Thank You" for a comment card a customer filled out about me.  Wow.  My very first one.  Someone must have liked me.  :)  My manager was vague on the details since it was back in February, but I don't remember doing anything out of the ordinary for anyone lately so I think I just had an awesome customer.  I love that I have Internet access now so when people ask me obscure movie questions that I can't answer on my own I can look them up, which makes me much less scary since I don't like to stop looking once people ask.  As one German tourist found out last summer when she asked me which western had Charles Bronson playing a harmonica.  Ouch!  I suck at westerns, and this was pre-internet.  I think the lady finally had to sneak away while I was distracted by another customer.  heh.

And finally, before I go off to watch the giant ape movie, and maybe some Doctor Who, here's a panel from Batman #651 that bugged the hell out of me while I was reading it. 

 bmrb.jpg

Look at that punk Robin perched up there on top of the filing cabinet.  There's a perfectly good chair that you know Batman's never gonna use.  What's the point of crouching up there and how did he get up?  His head is almost touching the ceiling.  Did he manage to jump up there without hitting his head, and why did the other two let him?  If I were Commissioner Gordon I'd be saying "Son, while I appreciate the fact you like to perch in high places, that's a cheaply made filing cabinet and you're going to dent the top of it." 

Yes, I like to obsess over stupid things.  I will be treating you to my over-analysis of Robin OYL at some point, but I lack the mental energy tonight.  And I think I've babbled long enough.

Entry filed under: rambling.

I love my job…really. You know you’re in a daze when…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tangognat  |  March 28, 2006 at 11:08 pm

    Didn’t Charles Bronson play the harmonica in the Magnificent Seven?
    I watched too many westerns as a young child :)

    Reply
  • 2. tangognat  |  March 28, 2006 at 11:26 pm

    Or maybe it was actually Once Upon a Time in the West? Now I’m mystified with my lack of knowledge of Charles Bronson trivia.

    Reply
  • 3. pajcat  |  March 29, 2006 at 10:09 am

    My westerns are limited to Shanghai Noon and American Outlaws. :) I’m told it was Once Upon a Time in the West though. Our “western” person came in to visit a couple of hours after the German lady left and I pounced on him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2006
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

