Only the Ring Finger Knows: The Lonely Ring Finger

March 24, 2006 at 10:08 pm 10 comments

I had such a struggle at the comic store on Wednesday.  I went in for Robin 148 and decided to get the new OYL Batman at the same time.  On my way out, I spied this book sitting on the shelf.  I had to choose between Batman or Only the Ring Finger Knows, since Robin was a must.  Dilemma!  I ended up going with Batman only because I just started The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle and I have a feeling it’s going to take me longer than usual to get through it.  (It’s great, I’m just slowing down while reading for once instead of speeding up)  As soon as I got home I regretted my decision and dashed out at lunch Thursday to pick OtRFK.  This was a fast read!

 

lrf.jpg

 

From Amazon:

It’s the ultimate expression of love to wear matching rings with your significant other, showing the world that you are a couple. High school student, Wataru Fujii, also wears one even though he is single. When he accidentally switches rings with a popular and handsome senior, Yuichi Kazuki, they discover that their rings pair up! Since that moment, Kazuki – who is known for being kind to all – becomes strangely harsh to Wataru. They alternate between hot and cold, as in between clashes they begin to sort their feelings for one another. Are Wataru and Kazuki the worst of enemies or are they actually soulmates?

I also read this at DMP (and it’s on the back cover of the book):

Not only is Yuichi the most mysterious, sought-after guy at school, he’s got an excellent shot at getting into any prestigious University…and no one knows this better than his secret love, Wataru. But instead of a vacation break spent celebrating beneath the fragrant sway of summer blossoms, both boys must surrender to Yuichi’s grueling study schedule. How can they possibly sweeten the deal? A bet that promises to take their young relationship to the next level is in the works, but Wataru complicates matters when the very ring that symbolizes their precious bond goes missing. Prying girls and wisecracking best friends only fuel the flames of gossip, and soon the small white lies that were only meant to protect the heart of Wataru’s beloved become poison arrows. With the test and their relationship on the line, can the boys hold on long enough to survive the sticky meltdown of their longest summer?

I found this vaguely confusing until I bought it, but the explanation is pretty simple.  The book actually contains two stories: Only the Ring Finger Knows and The Lonely Ring Finger.  The first story was what the manga was based on, and they were exactly the same, right down to the dialogue (okay, one is illustrated, but you could go through panel by panel and paragraph by paragraph and they’d match).  I blew through it in the half an hour I had left at lunch.  (Although part of that is because the book is very wee)

The second story is original and a fun read.  Poor Wataru is still angst ridden over Yuichi’s changeable moods, who didn’t seem to get any more pleasant once the two boys started dating.  The introduction of a girl named Miho (who is blackmailing Wataru over his lost ring) is the main source of conflict as Wataru desperately tries to get his ring back from her without letting Yuichi know it’s lost, and Yuichi becomes jealous over the relationship he thinks is growing between the two.  There is a sex scene (for those of you who care about such things) but it’s very sweet and not overly explicit.  I’m looking forward to  volume two, The Left Hand Dreams of Him which is coming out in July.

I also found out that Rin! is coming out in October.  I just read a scanlation of this online and am very excited because it was very cute book!  It’s done by by Satoru Kannagi (Only the Ring Finger Knows) and Yukine Honami (Desire).

Katsura, a second year in his high school’s archery club, has a hard time controlling his nerves. His “secret weapon” is his brother’s best friend and childhood buddy, Sou! One hug from Sou, and Katsura’s nerves are soothed to a peaceful calm. But he can’t keep Sou around him forever. As he wonders how he’ll survive without Sou’s hugs, his friend Kouichi suddenly asks if he can be the one to save him, and kisses him!

Ah, another love triangle!  Watching Katsura overcome his problems and work to find his own style in the archery club was a lot of fun and of course the love story was wonderful.  

                   rin3.jpg               rin1.jpg

Entry filed under: manga.

One more to add to the list I love my job…really.

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angel  |  April 17, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    hey i have just a question.

    where did you read the novel online? if did. i want to find it online but so far i had no luck

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  April 17, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    I read Rin! as a scanlation, but the Rings novels I bought. They’ve been published in North America (and the first two Rin books are out now too) so you should be able to get them in some comic book stores, or order them from a regular bookstore. Not sure if people put novels online the same way they do manga, anyway. :)

    Reply
  • 3. Rylee  |  September 25, 2007 at 9:41 am

    I LOVES “ONLY THE RING FINGER KNOWS”!!!! its the best yoai manga i ever read!

    Reply
  • 4. Orze  |  October 4, 2007 at 9:34 am

    I love these novels. They are so cute, but I still felt bad when I was reading it in my Jesus class.

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  October 4, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Ha, that’s funny. I don’t think I’d have the nerve for that!

    Reply
  • 6. Blood Doctor  |  December 27, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    Does anyone know where I can read Only the Ring Finger Knows manga online? I’ve been looking for it everywhere.

    Reply
  • 7. KIA  |  January 2, 2008 at 2:08 am

    http://www.mangatemple.com/content/view/375/107/

    if you want to read it online

    Reply
  • 8. KIA  |  March 1, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    turns out the lik i posted a while back is only the first pat but it is very interesting now i trying to find the second or last parts

    Reply
  • 9. KIA  |  March 12, 2008 at 12:12 am

    http://myanimemanga.piczo.com/?g=1&cr=1
    the hole thing I uploaded it there for everyone!!!

    Reply
  • 10. deb  |  August 28, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    If u wanna read only the ring finger know novels, u can check mangafox.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2006
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

