Last week’s manga

March 21, 2006 at 1:39 am 2 comments

‘Cause I’m a slacker!  I spent all weekend reading and watching movies and stuff instead of lounging in front of the computer.  Uh, except for last night when I read some online manga…  Actually, yesterday I finally finished watching Genshiken.  And, ha!  Of course it finished exactly where volume four of the manga left off.  That happens to me a lot.  Most recently at Christmas when I watched Tsubasa (although I hear there is/might be a second season) and most traumatically when I plowed through 102 episodes of Kodocha in a disturbingly short period of time because there was a fabulous cliffhanger between volumes 7 and 8 of the manga.  I had to know what happened to Hayama!  And… and… They changed that part of the fracking storyline for the anime so I had to wait two months until volume 8 came out anyway.  sigh.  Anyone reading Kodocha for the first time, be grateful you get to just keep going!  And if you haven’t read it yet, why not? 

Actually, I bought it first volume of Kodocha when it first came out and decided I didn’t like it.  I lent it to a friend’s sister months later and she wanted to read the second volume so I went out and bought it and ended up liking it more… then I read volume three and I was hooked.  This became one of my “go without food to buy” titles pretty quickly.  Other titles I initially ignored and later became obsessed with:  Tramps Like Us, Peach Girl and GTO.

Now that I’ve got a bit of babbling out of my system, here’s what I picked up last week:

Here is Greenwood 9 – this is the final volume.  I was surprised by the end of Ultra Maniac and Pretty Maniacs last week, but this made me sad.  I wasn’t ready for this series to end yet, darnit!  I was having too much fun.  sniff!

Land of the Blindfolded 7 – Arou’s uncle shows up and takes the group on a trip to the country and a darker part of Arou’s past is revealed.  It was quite…sad and disturbing. 

Anne Freaks 1 – Yuri meets a young assassin named Anna while he is burying his mother, who he has just killed.  She offers to help him dispose of the body if he in turn helps her kill her father.  They later meet up with Mitsuba, who’s sister and father has just been murdered.  The three of them are somehow linked to a mysterious terrorist organization.  This is a pretty dark book, and I really liked it.  I’m interested to see how all of the teens are linked to terrorist group and what Anne’s ultimate goals are.

W Juliet 9 – I liked this one more than some of the earlier volumes because it focused a lot on Akane and Yuto instead of the usual Makoto/Ito storylines.  (Which is why I also really liked vol 8 as well – it was the set up for this one).  Not that I don’t like Makoto and Ito, it’s just their plots are usually variations of the same themes.

Never Give Up 1 – should I have read the manga about the feminine model guy and the masculine girl right after reading W Juliet?  :)  Kiri is in love with Tohya, but feels unworthy of him – she’s taller and looks like a guy.  It’s her life goal to become a proper princess for him so they can be together.  Kiri’s mother hires Tohya to work as a model and Kiri becomes a (male) model herself so she can protect him from lechers in the industry.  Things get complicated when a third model named Akira falls for Kiri/Tatsuki and it becomes harder to keep her secret.  I actually liked this even though it’s not overly original, and I was happy to see that Tohya isn’t quite the self-absorbed jerk he seems at first.  Apparently he’s the strong, suffer in silence type and no happier about being a “princess” than Kiri is at being a “prince.” 

Boogiepop and others – a novel.  I haven’t read it yet, but the back blurb says it’s a prelude to the Boogiepop Phantom anime series.  I kept seeing the anime at a used store and was intrigued by it, but never bought it.  (I think they were always missing one volume)  Next novel comes out in June, and the first manga in April.  From the back:  “There is an urban legend that children tell about a shinigami that can release people from the pain they are suffering.  This “Angel of Death” has a name – Boogiepop.  And the legends are true.  Boogiepop is real.”  There’s a free preview of the novel on the publisher’s website.

Hmm.  Okay, I was just trolling gomanga.com and came across Aoi House.  It looks cute!  I’m going to keep my eyes open for this one.  And since all of my series seem bent on ending lately I guess I can start adding new ones.  (Start?  I don’t think I stopped…)

Descendants of Darkness 10 – I didn’t enjoy this volume of Decendants of Darkness as much as I have the others.  Part of it was the art – it seemed off somehow in this volume.  I found myself not recognizing Tsuzuki and Hisoka in a few panels, which is weird.  It’s also partly because the “A” plot has moved away from the usual mystery/horror/suspense/sometimes wacky feel and into more of a fantasy/supernatural story.  Right now Hisoka and Tsuzuki are in the Imaginary Land so that Hisoka can find a Shiki to partner with.  He seems unusually obsessed with gaining power – mostly so that Tsuzuki won’t have to protect him anymore.  It *is* interesting, just not what I’m used to from my Decendants of Darkness gang.  One thing I like about the story is seeing Tsuzuki’s Shiki in their own environment.  Apparently he has 12 of them, which if I knew that before I had forgotten – probably because the stories tend to focus on Suzuku, Byakko, Genbu and Soryuu.  Also, since the four guardians get so much press in *other* manga as well, they’re easier to remember.  :)  There’s a B plot with Watari and Tatsumi investigating Hisoka’s family, but they only got a few pages in the volume, which is a shame.  Tatsumi has emerged as one of my favorite characters.  On the surface he’s the typical glasses wearing, domineering, economically focused stereotype you see so often, but underneath he not only has a darker side but also a caring and vulnerable side – both of which are forced to the top when dealing with Tsuzuki either by protecting him or comforting him.  That’s also when you’re reminded that Tatsumi is also a shinigami, and they don’t get the job by having a happy life before death.

None of the new yaoi stuff that was supposed to be out made it to my comic store.  Ah well.  We’ll see what comes out this week.  I’m not planning on going manga shopping until Friday, although I *will* have to hit a comic store on Wednesday anyway to pick up the new Robin(please be good please be good please be good!)

Entry filed under: manga.

I may cry One more to add to the list

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adam Arnold  |  May 4, 2006 at 1:52 am

    Thanks for the Aoi House plug. Glad you like the series. ^_^

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  May 5, 2006 at 7:43 am

    No problem! It looks interesting. I’m waiting for the book to come out to really get a chance to read it…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2006
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

