More anime on YTV

March 4, 2006 at 2:47 am 2 comments

FullMetal Alchemist started tonight on YTV.  huh.  I’m so out of the loop.  I didn’t know they were going to be airing it.  I probably won’t go out of my way to watch it, though.  I’ve already seen 1/2 of the series in Japanese.  I’ve only watched the first few episodes in English, and they don’t seem that bad, but yeah.  I like subs better.  Wonder if my nephew is going to watch it?  He’s a big Naruto fan too, but he doesn’t like the English dub so doesn’t bother with the version on tv.

I think if YTV went crazy and started a show like Getbackers I might tune in, just to reward them.  I don’t really watch any of the other anime that YTV and Fox plays.  Gundam Seed seemed okay, but I kept missing it when it first started airing and then gave up.  Too many characters and too much plot to be an occasional watcher.  I was strangely attracted to Zatch Bell, but… the voices!  I have plans to read the manga instead.

I’m not a complete dub snob, though.  I liked a lot of the earlier stuff Viz put out in English, like the first few seasons of Ranma 1/2 and Please Save My EarthCowboy Bebop and Tenchi Muyo weren’t bad either.  Umm…  There are probably more.  I just can’t think of them right now.

Escaflowne!  I like Escaflowne’s dub.  I knew there was another one…

Entry filed under: anime.

when puppets go bad More manga reviews…eventually

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  March 6, 2006 at 1:19 am

    Wow, Fullmetal alchemist huh? The top anime here is Naruto for the younger kids, and they still show cowboy bepop alot, but nothing is played as much as DragonballZ, and this is from my all anime all the time channel. Im trying to get better at learning the names of some of the other anime that ive never seen, but hey, its kanji…and takes far too much time to learn!

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  March 6, 2006 at 1:27 am

    Amy!! I don’t actually know anyone who likes Dragon Ball. It always looks so slow and boring when I see it! (But Jared at the store does a wicked funny imitation of the narrator that always sends me into a giggling fit) Last night I found http://www.afrosamurai.com which is something Samuel L. Jackson will be doing voice work for. Kick ass!

    How frustrating is it to have all that awesome anime right on tv and not be able to understand it?? That would hurt. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2006
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

