Widdle mousies

February 23, 2006 at 8:58 pm 2 comments

My manga day was delayed until today since I got sent home yesterday after I tried going back to work a bit too soon.  Oops!  Anyway, it was another slow day.  I picked up Hana-Kimi #10 and Gals! #5.  I was most amused by Hana-Kimi at lunch when poor Sano came to the bewildering and embarrassing realization that many people think he’s sexy.  heh.  Looks like volume 11 will feature the required-by-all-romantic-comedies haunted house chapter.  (Mmm.  But maybe it was a haunted lake?  Now having a Tramps Like Us flashback…)

Also picked up a little comic called Mouse Guard (Belly of the Beast is the first of six) since the comic store staffer was so very very enthusiastic about it.  It was a pretty interesting introduction and the art was gorgeous.  And God, yes, the mice look adorable but at the same time they’re very serious characters who you can tell don’t take crap from anything.  I thought I’d get a lot of Redwall vibes off of it, but thankfully not.  When I started the Redwall series I read about 7 or 8 of them all at once and I literally had giggling little animals haunting my dreams.  That’s when I stopped.  There was no giggling in Mouse Guard.  Preview can be found here

(Yes, I know there’s more to Redwall than giggling animals.  That’s what stuck though.  There would be a battle, little animals cheering, then they’d eat a lot and giggle.  I got burned out after the eighth book.)

I’m told that the next huge quarterly sale at the store should be coming up towards the end of March/beginning of April, which fits in perfectly with my timeline.  That’s when I had planned on a crazy buying spree of left behind manga, so now I’ll just wait until the sale.  heh heh heh.

Updated to add: I completely forgot!  There was a card/role-playing game (can’t remember what they’re actually called) for Fruits Basket in the comic store today.  It made me laugh.  We couldn’t figure out what the point of the game would be.  To make friends?  Avoid being hugged?  I agreed that yes, girls would probably just buy them for the pictures on the cards without wanting to play the game.  Heck, it’s what *I’d* do.  No, I didn’t flip the box over to read the description on the back.  That would’ve been too easy!  Oh, wait.  Found a description here.  Good grief!  You ARE supposed to make friends…

Entry filed under: manga.

Comments from the peanut gallery New to the blogroll…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  February 24, 2006 at 2:25 am

    Fruits Basket is actually one of the most popular games for school kids here in Japan, which is where the manga got its name i think. I totally flipped when my elementary class played it. Every student has a card with a picture and they sit in a circle, and there is one person in the middle. Now ive only played english versions, but the aim of the game is to get the person from the middle of the cirlce back into the circle, by shouting out the name on a card. When the card is called those who have that card must switch places and run to find another place it the circle. The person left standing goes to the middle. Now, the person in the middle can call a card, or they can shout Fruits Basket! then EVERYONE runs around and tries to find a new place in the circle. kids LOVE it and ask to play it all the time. Thought you might find it interesting!

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  February 24, 2006 at 11:20 am

    Awww, that sounds fun! This might be a little different, though. I got the impression it was more of a Yu-Gi-Oh type game, or like Pokemon cards. You know, where you sit around and pick cards to battle each other? And there are, um, points and stuff… That’s why I laughed when I saw it. Damnit! I’m going to end up buying it now ’cause it’ll bug me. Okay, then I’m going to have to find someone to play it with me! Of course, my nephew tried to teach me the Neopets game and I was pretty pathetic. I think I need to be 12 to understand the rules properly…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

