Comments from the peanut gallery

February 23, 2006 at 11:53 am 2 comments

I was walking to work this morning from the subway and a cyclist whizzed by and yelled, “Is that dirty manga?”

I guess I should give him credit for recognizing what I was carrying from that many feet away and at a semi-high speed.  I have no idea what his point was though.  Was he just being friendly to a fellow manga reader?  Pervy?  Flirting?  It was too early and he went by too fast for me to tell.  My response was a semi-grumpy “no.”  I’m not at my best first thing in the morning, but I think if we had been waiting at the light I might have been able to come up with a better comeback.  :P   Unfortunately I’ve been exposed to too many guys who, after finding out that I watch anime, leer “Have you seen Legend of the Overfiend?” that my initial reaction was kind of negative.  ::eyeroll::

For the record, it was volume 5 of One Piece.  :)

Entry filed under: manga.

Recap goodness and Otaku love Widdle mousies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  February 24, 2006 at 2:31 am

    Dirty Manga is VERY common here in Japan, men read it all the time on the train or they just stand in the convience stores, (which mostly sell only dirty manga) and read it. In the manga shops, even here in my little sleepy town, there is at least one large section of Adult Manga, and its right beside the kids stuff. They display it ALL no problem, which is REALLY frightening, as i think some of the more popular dirty stuff here isnt available at home, or if it is, you can only get it in an adult shop. Its really scary as a lot of it is violent and women are often raped or abused. I just recently learned that that is the sexual ideal here in Japan, women are supposed to pretend to be raped (or something) when they are having sex, as this excites the man. Unfortunatly, its quite common to see in the Manga here, even in the teen stuff. Something to ponder.

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  February 24, 2006 at 11:20 am

    Yeah, but on the street in Canada? :) Like I said, if I had had a chance to talk to the guy I probably would have bugged him about it. And lets face it – if I *were* reading adult manga on the street I doubt it would be stuff the average guy would be interested in. I don’t think they get into the boy x boy stuff as much. :) I was pretty surprised by Teacher’s Pet the first time I looked at it and had a completely different reaction to it once I got a translation. I guess if you’re used to that kind of thing it’s not as bad/shocking? I can’t see that one getting published here though. The first time I went into Suspect Video here I was shocked by the adult stuff sitting next to family type movies (there was nowhere safe to look!) then I got used to it. Uh, actually, I can’t even remember if they still do that, so I guess I may be *really* used to it now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

