Kamikaze Girls

February 14, 2006 at 5:27 pm 2 comments

My oh-so-exciting plans for Valentine’s Day (job #1, job #2, curling up and watching Supernatural before bed) have been derailed.  My mother will be arriving tomorrow evening on an impromptu trip to Toronto.  So now instead of relaxing when I get home at 11:30 tonight I get to clean.  Yay?  I didn’t set the timer this morning to tape Supernatural either – no use in exposing myself to too much temptation.  sniff.  And I’ll have to remind myself that cleaning up doesn’t involve organizing my manga shelves, it’s putting away laundry and cleaning the bathroom.  My mom so won’t care about my bookshelves.  (Although I’m betting I get an “Oh, Cathy” when she sees my “collectables.”)  :P
 
I hope everyone else has a wonderful day and gets much chocolate.

Last night I went on a mission to find the Kamikaze Girls dvd, since I tried to rent it a few weeks ago with no success.  After being less than overwhelmed by the novel preview and finding the manga to be fairly typical shojo fare, I wasn’t sure of what to expect from the movie.  I figured out pretty quickly that I was going to have a blast watching it.  It was a buddy movie and a comedy – the fast paced, silly kind that I especially enjoy.

The “live” clothes worked pretty well for me (while I found the Baby/lolita outfits annoying in the manga) and I believe it was the first time I’ve ever seen a Yanki style outfit on a real person.  Loved the long skirt and jacket… the purple Hammer pants and yellow boots?  Not so much.  :)

My favorite bits include Ichigo’s first three head butts, the appearance of the oh-so-dashing Unicorn at the pachinko parlour (that also triggered some pretty intense Shaman King flashbacks), Momoko’s wonderfully dysfunctional family and the awesome crazy animation used to tell the story of the legendary Himiko. 

Definately something I’m going to lend to as many people that I can.

Entry filed under: movies, rambling.

little library moments Stapling isn’t a right – it’s a privilege

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  February 16, 2006 at 1:30 am

    Again, wish i could say a lot of what happens in that film is confined to film….but sadly its not. Pachinko parlors are EXACTLY they way they are depicted, and there are more of them than combinis, and thats saying something. I live in the COUNTRY and there are no less than 10 pachinko parlours in a 3 km area. As for the dress up…still only common in the cities, but i have to say the japanese fashions, even here in the inaka, are very costume like….down to the feathered hair, mini skirts with no tights in -5C, and high heeled black cowboy boots complete with studs, tassels and rhinestones. Yup, rhinestones. Amy

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  February 16, 2006 at 2:03 am

    When I visit you in Japan will you take me to a pachinko parlour? I want to try to win something weird. :) Sometimes when I see Japanese fashion I’m kind of reminded of the 80’s… perhaps it’s the hair??

    What’s a combini? Convenience store?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

