No! Shinogu! Don’t do it!

February 4, 2006 at 2:57 am 4 comments

I got a package from Japan from my super awesome friend the other day.  I am now the proud owner of Hot Gimmick 12 (last volume, sniff!) and Teacher’s Pet 1, both by Miki Aihara.  Of course I won’t say anything about what happens in Hot Gimmick, although I think I’m a wee bit disappointed how it ends.  Hmm.  Perhaps it wasn’t dramatic enough for me?  And no, I won’t tell you what Shinogu did that horrified me so.  You’ll have to wait and see.  Or, um, just ask and I’ll tell you.  I’m easy.

Teacher’s Pet is a bit more adult than the other Aihara stuff I’ve seen so far, and not what I was expecting.  Oi.  Definately not!  I must say that I have very different before and after impressions of the book after finding a translation, though I’ve only read the first chapter so far.  I’ll say more about that another day, I think, since I also want to play with getting clearer images to post.

That’s it until Sunday.  I’m staying over at a friend’s house tomorrow night so I have a shot of getting to the intro to crochet class I’m taking at Lettuce Knit Sunday morning on time.  The buses don’t start running around here until after 9 am on Sundays and the class starts at 10.  arg.  Of course we’re making a scarf.  I was kind of hoping I was done with scarves, but I guess it’s still a good way to learn.  I just really don’t need another scarf…

Entry filed under: knitting/crocheting, manga.

Isn’t that like, really bad karma? January reading list

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tangognat  |  February 4, 2006 at 11:56 pm

    Yikes! I had to look up what Shinogu did, and if it is what I think it is I can see why you’d be bummed out. Why, Shinogu, why?!!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. cathy  |  February 5, 2006 at 9:09 pm

    Arg. He was my favorite guy (though I wanted Hatsumi and Ryoki together – she’s his only chance of becoming a halfway decent person) and I’m *so* disappointed that he’s martyring himself over her. Move on, already!

    Reply
  • 3. sierra  |  June 18, 2006 at 6:44 pm

    what did shinogu do, tell me i have to know

    Reply
  • 4. pajcat  |  June 18, 2006 at 7:35 pm

    Oi. He's joining a monastery or becoming a priest or something. One of the last panels of volume 12 (of the main story, anyway) has Shinogu talking with a monk. Arg! He could so still get a girlfriend! He's so young!

    Heh. The one thing I really don't like about the ending is Shinogu being so self-sacrificing…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

