She’s back!

January 4, 2006 at 11:59 pm 5 comments

Actually, I’ve been back for a couple of days now, but I’ve been having too much fun playing with my new Playstation 2 to update the blog.  But yes, I had blog guilt.

My vacation was fun, and semi-relaxing.  Hanging with the nephews is always a treat, tho sadly they can both kick my butt at videogames.  The 3 year old at Spyro and the 13 year old at everything else.  Hey, just ’cause I wanted a Playstation doesn’t mean I’m going to be good at it.  I’m going to practice a lot.  That’s my goal, though.  To beat my little toddler nephew at Spyro next vacation.  Look out, kiddo!  Aunty’s going to kick your butt next time! 

Boxing Day featured a Tsubasa marathon – the last 19 episodes of the series, all in a row.  I liked the series, although it didn’t quite measure up to the manga for me.  I think the book is a little more expressive somehow.  (Although I finally clued into why Sakura seemed so blank – duh!!  Too much turkey, I guess.)  Syaoran was always so… fierce in Cardcaptor Sakura and I really missed that part of his character.  It did get better as the series progressed.  Other than a couple of little stories, it covered the first seven graphic novels, so there weren’t any real surprises for me.  (With the exception of the kid (boy??) in the tank the two villains kept visiting – I honestly can’t remember if that was in the manga.  I’ll have to go back and reread the books again.  What a sacrifice.) 

One thing that seriously kicked ass for me in the anime was the music.  It completely blew me away, it was all so gorgeous.  I’ve been listening to the music pretty exclusively since I came back.  There’s a good review of the first Tsubasa soundtrack hereTsubasa is my favorite song (either version), and You Are My Love is so pretty…  The two bgm’s I was happy to get were Strange Games and A Song of Storm and Fire.  As someone who bought FOUR Fruits Basket soundtracks in a fruitless effort to get Ayame’s bgm, I really appreciated that!  Why the hell CAN’T I find Aya’s bgm, anyway??  (Um, I just noticed, but no pun was intended.  Especially a really bad one like that!)

Sooo… now that Christmas is over, once again it’s all about the manga.  Yes, it really is.  One of my first stops after arriving back in the big city was to hit my comic store to scope out the new manga.  Ahhh.  There’s such a pitiful little selection of manga in my hometown I hardly ever really try to browse or find anything. (although Coles had volume 12 of Fruits Basket wrapped with a 2006 manga pocket calendar, damnit!!  I didn’t want to buy vol 12 again just for the calendar, but I really really wanted it!) 

My new acquisitions?  Here they are:

Death Note #3
Hands Off! #5  (oh, the angst!)
MeruPuri #3
Prince of Tennis #11
Tokyo Boys & Girls #3
Ultra Maniac #4
Whistle! #9

and my Christmas manga was Saiyuki #1.  Yay!  Christmas manga!

Sadly, I was informed that the store didn’t receive their copies of Ouran High School Host Club #4.  I think I would just rather have not known.  But then I would have seen the ads for it in the other Viz books and wondered about it, and quite possibly revisited the trauma of the late release of volume 2 and my searching 6 different comic stores before finally giving up…  Ah well.  It should arrive tomorrow when I will be making my second manga run of the week.  But it’s for THIS week, not last week, so it doesn’t really count as two…

I’m also waffling on whether or not to continue with MeruPuri and Prince of Tennis.  MeruPuri isn’t quite doing it for me, but I’ll probably give it another volume just to be sure.  I’ve already seen the anime for PoT and something about the manga isn’t clicking with me.  Part of it is the art, I guess.  The name thing kind of bugs me a little too.  In the anime, last names were used pretty much all the time (except for Momo-chan sempai, lol) so every time I see them using first names in the manga I think, “Is that supposed to be there?  Are they changing it for the English translation?”  Not a big deal, I know, it’s just something else to pull me out of the story.  And I’m already up to volume 11, so it can’t be bugging me that much, I guess.  :P

Hey – I just went to the Shojo Beat site and apparently the January issue is going to have a 2006 calendar in it!  Maybe I should pick that one up… I don’t have a 2006 calendar yet and it’s starting to bug me.  I usually order an anime calendar in Chinatown every year, but they were so expensive this time…

For the rest of this week and the weekend I’m going to concentrate on reading the manga I have lying around that I borrowed from friends and the library.  I’m in the middle of Jinx right now, which I got from the library, and the bleeding thing FELL APART while I was reading it!  I didn’t do anything to the book, though, I swear!  I’m going to have to return a damaged book to the library darn it.  I hate doing that – I feel like I was careless with it or something.   :(

Okay, now it’s late and I’m officially back to work at job #1 tomorrow.  Time to go to bed.  And read some new manga.  heh heh.

Entry filed under: anime, manga.

Beyond My Touch Sometimes I’d rather not know things…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  January 5, 2006 at 2:22 pm

    Meru Puri is only a 4 vol series so you might as well finish it. Or not. Up to you. Vol 3 is very good, though.

    Reply
  • 2. pajcat  |  January 5, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    Okay, things like that are useful to know! ha ha. I’ll stick with it all the way to the end, then. Guess I’m too used to series that go on forever…

    Reply
  • 3. Laurie  |  January 8, 2006 at 4:25 am

    You can’t give up on the Prince of Tennis!! He’s the Prince….

    Reply
  • 4. Patrick  |  January 8, 2006 at 4:27 am

    Read your Blog… Love it!!!
    Invest in some sleeping pills… you need more rest!

    Reply
  • 5. pajcat  |  January 8, 2006 at 6:52 am

    You know Laurie, you say he’s the Prince like you’re mocking the show or something. I used to do that too, until I watched it and developed a horrible, unsightly PoT addiction. He truely is the Prince and someday I will tie you to a chair and force you to watch until you agree. heh. Actually, I’m a much bigger fan of Fuji the Tennis Avenger. Do not use tennis for evil, ’cause he will totally beat you down…

    Patrick: I slept until 3 this afternoon, which could explain why I’m still up at 2am. arg. Of course, I also just finished watching Rozen Maiden… creepy dolls who live… so cute… so disturbing…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2006
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

