Oooo… Toronto knitters…

December 9, 2005 at 2:12 am 1 comment

I’ve actually seen the link for this a few times (in fact, it comes up every time I Google the Knit Cafe) but haven’t clicked on it until today.  It’s a blog ring of knitters in Toronto.  So much Canadian content!  I so don’t knit that well yet… And I need to learn to do stuff less compulsively.  And I also need to remember that I have some sort of repetitive stress thing happening in my arm, that apparently obsessive knitting can cause to flare up.  Oops!  heh heh.  Don’t worry, I’m still finishing my Christmas knitting, I’m just going to try to take it easier so my arm still works in January.  I guess that means I can go back to reading for a while?  Or finally figure out that whole holding the yarn with your left hand instead of constantly picking it up with your right.  I gave it a shot last night, and though it was definately easier on my right arm, I could tell I wasn’t doing it right.  Practice practice practice!

Speaking of reading, here’s what I’ve read so far this December:

First Impressions, by Jude Deveraux – um, this wasn’t really very good.  In fact, I do believe I’ve been finally cured of reading Jude Deveraux books.  I liked her older ones, but her newer books have very unappealing characters that I just don’t care enough about to work my way through another book.  I actually waffled on signing this out of the library, but it was sitting there on the new book shelf, it was free, and I figured what the hell.  It turned out to be a bad choice.  Ah well.

Red Lily, by Nora Roberts – her books are getting pretty uneven for me.  It’s sad that a book I might otherwise enjoy (as in, the characters and plot were working for me) can be ruined by dialogue.  Nora Roberts has switched all of her characters into the same way of speaking – they all use the same phrasing (some of which can get really annoying), same short sentences, same noble characters.  And speaking as someone who can now remember being 26 – I don’t know anyone who’s that together and mature at around that age.  It’s very distracting.

The Truth, by Terry Pratchett – this was a reread.  I read it waaaayyyy back when when it first came out in hardcover and then decided I didn’t need to buy the paperback.  Gasp!  Yes, I have HOLES in my Pratchett collection.  I got this from the library, thinking I didn’t want to buy it now, either.  It was better than I remembered, but maybe my streak of reading really bad books is making me appreciate that a mediocre book by Terry Pratchett is still a lot better than a lot of other books.  (BTW, it seemed a lot less mediocre this time around)  And on that note, my next book is…

Monstrous Regiment, by Terry Pratchett – see above, and also a reread.  I bought this one though, so it’s now available for loan requests. :) Also a much better read the second time.  Next on my list is Night Watch and then my usual holiday reading of Hogfather

I’m also rereading random bits of Cast in Shadow, by Michele Sagara.

That’s it so far!  I’m off to the library to acquire more bad books and return my overdue (oops!) stuff.

 

Entry filed under: books, knitting/crocheting.

My manga in all its glory I swear I meant to be good…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. SAM-urai  |  December 9, 2005 at 4:12 am

    hello, just dropping by to say hello! Maybe I should get you a hand massage treatment for Christmas…huuhuu..nice blog :)

    -Sam

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2005
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

