Class is over, so are the crafty posts…

December 10, 2009 at 11:01 pm 3 comments

As of Wednesday, my stained glass class is over!  (Just in time for Glee to be done too, darn it!)  All in all, I liked the experience but I’m a bit disappointed that I didn’t get to do everything I wanted to.

So here’s what I did in the last two classes.

I finished wrapping each piece in the copper foil and assembled it all in the proper order.

After that I had to tack each piece in place (I forgot to take a picture of that part again!) which turned out to be quite challenging as I didn’t have pins to keep everything from moving around.  I ended up using my fingers instead.

(BTW: NO injuries during the soldering process!  I’m so thankful for that!)

This is the flip side of the panel. You can see some of the solder coming through from the other side.

I just finished filling in the gaps here. I thought it looked pretty good just like this! It was nice to be much better at soldering this time. Apparently practice is important. (Pretty good = the interior edges, NOT the gloopy edges or random solder beads.)

 You might also notice that some of the glass is out of order.  I ended up moving some squares around so that everything would fit together a little better.  I think this is the first time I managed to make something with colours non-symmetrical.  I never would have put those two green swoopy pieces so close together if I had planned it!  This is where I left off last week.  All assembled and most of the bubbling soldering done.  The edges are kind of uneven, but I’m still happy with it!

This week started out with touch ups of the front and getting rid of some of the mess on the back.  It turned out that every time I spent too long in one place in the front, the solder would leak through the cracks and spread out in the back.  Oops! 
I also discovered that I had cracked two of the little pieces on the edge.  Probably from the heat.  I think it’s one of those things that people will only notice if I point it out, but knowing me I probably will.  :)
All I had left to do was tarnish the copper and wax the panel.  Important step: using gloves or plastic to hold the rag when tarnishing!  Otherwise you end up with nasty discoloured fingers.  Sigh.  At least I only ended up with really dried out hands instead of bleeding…

I'm done!

Here’s the panel held up to different lights, which changes the effect a bit.
It’s interesting that a couple of people who were looking at my earlier pictures didn’t realize that the rose is pink. 
And gosh, those edges *are* uneven, aren’t they?  Oh well.  If it ever starts to really bother me, I’ll find a frame to put around the panel.  :)
That’s it!   The odds of my feeling this crafty again before next year are slim, and if I do then my project is going to involve wool and safety scissors!
Entry filed under: Random Stuff. Tags: .

Manga is even better when it’s on sale What happened to January?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badzphoto  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:21 am

    I didn’t know that the rose was pink, either. I thought it was white! Was it because of not enough light? The 2 green wavy squares look really neat, too bad they are too close together for the reason you mentioned. It sounds like you had fun with this class.
    What is Glee? A tv show?

    Reply
    • 2. pajcat  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:36 am

      Yeah, it’s a really pale pink, with slightly pinker lines running through it. Definitely changes colour in the light!

      Glee is a tv show that just finished its first 13 episode run. It’s starting up again in April. It’s about a group of high school kids who join the glee club, which is being run by a teacher who wants to restore it to the popularity levels it enjoyed when he was in school. Glee kids are generally seen as losers. So because they need more members, and to raise their image, he kind of blackmails the captain of the football team into joining. Then the coach of the cheerleading squad wants to crush the club (hard to explain, but try looking up Sue Sylvester on youtube or something to see the kind of character she is) so some of the cheerleaders join as spies. It has love triangles, teen and fake pregnancies, dirty dealings and lots of musical numbers. A mix of stage performances and fantasy sequences. It’s a really fun show!

      Reply
  • 3. Domino  |  December 17, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Wow it’s beautiful. You did a great job creating this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Email me at:

p (dash) cat (at) hotmail (dot) com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

